We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant birthday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady

Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady
Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland
01875 870 682
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Aberlady
Price range: $29 - $65
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ducks Restaurant is an intimate two AA Rosette fine dining restaurant with a long history originating in Edinburgh’s New Town, with just ten tables it is one of the best in East Lothian.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just had an amazing dinner in the main restaurant. Fabulous food from the new chef team, along with great personal service from Malcolm and his staff. The wine list is exceptional and worth splashing out on. Relaxed and friendly environment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for writing, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. I hope we see you again soon.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    31
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate their because we also stayed at the hotel the Kilspindie House. Malcolm and his staff had a great breakfast (as part of the stay) and we also ate at their restuarant which was very good and the people were super friendly.

I would go back any day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for writing, sorry to have than so long to post a reply. I do hope you come back and see us, hope life is treating you well kin Nabraska.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weekend Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for my husband's birthday. Everything about it was excellent, food amazing, lovely little touches. Staff and locals very friendly. Accommodation was first class. Looking forward to our Hogmaney stay.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for writing, very kind words. I hope we see you in the not too distant future, sorry for being slow in responding.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent host .. Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ate in the bistro and the food was perfect .. A fantastic haggis starter and then mains of fish and chips and chicken with risotto .. First class and a fine selection of wine .. Couldn't ask for more

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed Donald's bistro, we have changed the menu road a wee bit. You have posted your review on Ducks Restaurant site which is Donald's sister restaurant; linen table cloths, candles etc all in all avert different and slightly more serious experience. Remember we also do great value rooms if you want to stay over. Thank again for writing.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service on Scotland's REAL Golfing Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful food and well prepared with personal service, this is a real find and also the owner really knows his golf locally so don't be afraid to ask for suggestions on where to play! Loved our lunch and will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and for your kind comments. I will take on board your point about portion size at lunch time. It is one of the best areas in the world for golf we are very lucky. Thanks for coming, hope we see you again soon.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady also viewed

 
Aberlady, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ducks Restaurant, Aberlady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.