We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room threadbare, with poor shower, poor wifi” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ducks at Kilspindie House

Save Saved
You added Ducks at Kilspindie House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ducks at Kilspindie House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Aberlady
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Room threadbare, with poor shower, poor wifi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in room 38 at the very back of the house. Had no wifi in room due to location?? Pluses, quiet, except the bathroom door squeaked, as did the floorboards. The service was very caring, but a bit like Fawlty Towers. Dined in Donald's and had a terrible Tiramisu, discussed it with Malcolm and it was removed from the bill. Shower was terrible, electric type, but with little to no pressure. Shampoo bottles designed as impossible to get shampoo out. Functional place in a town without much to recommend it. Would stay in North Berwick at the Marine or Golf Lodge next time. Bed was a double and we had requested King or two singles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks at Kilspindie House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Your are right, we are not for those who like bland corporate land. We were built in 1638 when people actually talked to each other communicating using the mouth piece God issued them with. Can I say that now? The Wifi is so poor we have had to purchase more Broad Band usage for the last couple of days of the month to cope with the demand; perhaps that's because its free thought the building. There are relay points on every floor and it works every where. Like every thing to do with PCs it does have to be rebooted sometimes and it does help if some one tells us its down.

The request was for two double rooms which is what was supplied, the first we knew of another preference was in the review above.

Shampoo bottles unscrew cap tip on side and pour! The Tiramisu had been made by a junior chef and not tasted prior to service and it was not up to speed. The complaint was that it was nothing like a Tiramisu construction: The chef is from central Italy.

We are looking at changing the toiletries and all food should be tasted before it is sent out . This week the area hosted the US Kids Golf competition with about 500 competitors and families so it was a little unusual and very busy. We do try at all times to look after customers but there is little we can do for them if they choose to inform us using this medium and have gone.

Best find Polly and get the kettle on!

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    57
    19
    23
    8
See reviews for
29
74
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I tried this place for the first time today and we will never go back.
We chose to sit outside as we each had our dog. My son and his friend were ravenous after a day at the beach.
The bad impression started when we walked in. Neither of the 2 staff standing at reception greeted us. I had to ask if we could order meals to take outside. We were told we had to order at the bar.
On approaching the bar, staff were fairly busy however nobody thought to smile or say 'I'll be with you in a minute'. Again nobody greeted us and I had to wait 5minutes to ask for the menu which was not on display. We ordered drinks then took menus out to ask the boys what they wanted. We were told we could start a tab and did not have to pay for drinks at this point. We placed our food order at the bar. Soon after a man came out and said we couldn't have a tab and would have to pay up front. I duly went back in and paid for the drinks and food at the bar. I thought our order had gone through as a waiter at the bar recognised the order I was paying for. My son went in to ask for a jug of water for the table. It never arrived. We waited 25 minutes and no food had arrived. It was only burgers and fishcakes and the restaurant was not busy. After 10 more minutes I went to the bar to enquire. I explained we were in a hurry to get back to Edinburgh. After a further 5mins, the staff member came back. He did not offer any information. When I asked if he knew of any progress, he said the order hadn't gone through! Meantime, the owner had spoken to my friend outside and offered free drinks but it was too little too late. I asked for my money back and was repaid for the food. No apologies were given. Considering the bad service I think we should have been refunded for the soft drinks too.
The whole place seemed much more geared to keeping golfers in drink than providing a pleasant atmosphere for families and friends to have a meal in. The golfers are welcome to it.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks at Kilspindie House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I spoke to no one about this as is claimed by the writer, no one on my staff seems to know about this incident and they all pass feed back to me very fast. If the kitchen is under too much pressure with walk in business we stop taking tables for a while to preserve quality and make sure bookings are looked after. There is an area for dogs inside so no need to have to sit out. We have out side tables at the rear which is where we encourage folk to eat so we can give them table service, we try to limit the front to drinks and nibbles which have to be paid for at the bar because so many leave with out paying. If we have to use the front for food we have a member of staff allocated to it giving table service.
It has been a very busy week with the US Kids Open on in the area but we did adjust the menu for speedy delivery and upped the staffing levels.

I am very happy to hear from the reviewer directly, most who write this sort of thing do so anonymously sadly which befits no one.


Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Ducks for one night over the May weekend holiday, received a very friendly welcome at check-in, and room was lovely with good facilities. We were not sure If we were going to dine @ Ducks restaurant, but very glad that we did!. The food was to die for, 10/10. Ducks fine dining restaurant is quite unique, it delivers all the quality you would expect from fine dining, but without the stuffiness or pretentiousness that sometimes goes alongside this. I loved the character and intimate ambiance of the restaurant, the service was very professional and attentive with out being intrusive. The cosy bar area is well stocked, again staff are very professional and pour a great Guinness. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return one day to see Mr Duck and his fabulous flock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks at Kilspindie House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
'10/10. Ducks fine dining restaurant is quite unique' Thank you very much for you very kind words and for taking the time to write. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff very much appreciate your comments. Though young they are a very good team.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A clean well appointed establishment which maintains its high standards. Meals can be taken in the restaurant or bistro, both of which offer an imaginative choice of delicious and well presented meals. The hotel staff are friendly and courteous . The choice of malt whiskies in the bar would delight a connoisseur! I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early as the hotel is very popular. Honeymoon suite is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks at Kilspindie House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for recommending Ducks at Kilspindie, I am glad you enjoyed our malt whiskys and Ducks Restaurant and Donald's Bistro, both have there own Trip Adviser sites. We are very much a restaurant with rooms so the focus is on service, Ducks, Donald's and the bar. We work hard at the rooms and they are very clean and tidy with free wifi and free view tellys.

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to write.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel whilst taking part in the four-day Links Golf Cup. Lovely, clean, comfortable room, with excellent breakfast. The staff were brilliant - very helpful, friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the weather wasn't as good, but couldn't detract from the wonderful coastal scenery. Would recommend without hesitation. Will hopefully be back next year. John and Chris Freeman

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks at Kilspindie House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write, the weather was a bit miserable! To think this time last year we were in short sleeved shirts sitting outside. We very much enjoyed having you with us and in spite of the weather the tournament was great fun and played in good spirit. Thanks again for coming and I hope we see you soon.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a three day golfing trip with friends last week. A warm welcome greeted us from Fiona on our arrival. This is a perfect location for golfers who want a clean friendly place to stay. Due to changing weather Fiona made several phone calls to book tee times to check which courses were open. We ate in the bistro from a wide and varied menu which can be thoroughly recommended. Overall a very pleasant experience which I will repeat and pass on to fellow golfers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks at Kilspindie House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, sorry about the weather, it is normally very dependable but the past fortnight has been awful. With a bit of luck the bad stuff has all come at once and is out of the way. The golf courses are always very helpful to us in times of bad weather which is tremendous because together we have a better chance of making your stay more enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

For one of our friends, this was his 25th consecutive biennial visit ( for the rugby international), and I have been coming here for many years. As ever, we received the warmest of welcomes from Malcolm (the owner) and his wife, Fiona; and from Ros. The staff go far beyond the call of duty in being friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. we look forward to returning in two years' time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks at Kilspindie House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write and for your very kind words. We very much enjoyed having you with us and look forward to seeing you in two years time. Thank you very much for filling in the feed back form in your room and for sharing your thoughts of what you like and don't like with us. This kind of feed back has helped us make many of the positive changes we have made over the past few years. Thanks again.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ducks at Kilspindie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducks at Kilspindie House

Address: Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Aberlady
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Aberlady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ducks at Kilspindie House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1638, Kilspindie House and the neighbouring school were converted into a 23 en-suite bedroom hotel in 1970. All rooms have central heating, hairdryers, ironing facilities, direct dial telephones, wi-fi access, colour televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. In Duck’s Restaurant you can enjoy fresh local produce prepared skilfully with care. Other facilities include Donalds bar/bistro with an extensive whiskey collection, real ale and a sheltered courtyard for alfresco dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Ducks at Kilspindie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducks At Kilspindie House Hotel Aberlady
Ducks At Kilspindie Hotel
Ducks At Kilspindie Aberlady
Ducks At Kilspindie House Aberlady, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ducks at Kilspindie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.