We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish & Chips in North Berwick! Ducks at Kilspindie House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donald's at Kilspindie House

Donald's at Kilspindie House
Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland
01875 870682
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Aberlady
Price range: $13 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bistro meets bar here at Donald���s, one of two dining options at the fantastic Ducks. Set in the quiet East Lothian coastal village of Aberlady, Ducks is a one time Edinburgh institution now found in more genteel surroundings and with the addition of a rather swanky little bistro. A relaxed, chilled out spot perfect for kicking back after a hard day on the range or walking the wonderful local coastline, Donald���s offers chic but comfortable surroundings and friendly service whether you���re enjoying a full meal or just dropping in to sample their excellent wine list and extensive collection of beers and ales. Hearty and delicious, the Donald���s menu incorporates the best of British dishes with a hint of European flavour.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Fish & Chips in North Berwick! Ducks at Kilspindie House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

April 2014

We enjoyed one night at the highly recommended Ducks Kilspindie House & after a tough day at the office (ok the golf course!), what better way to relax than to sample a fabulous Fish & Chips!

Haggis to start with as well - fantastic! And if that wasn't good enough, we even enjoyed a Bottle of Ernie Els finest wine!

Very welcoming, very relaxed & highly recommended. I can't wait to go back!

Jim Semple

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for celebratory dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at Ducks at Kilspindie for my birthday and dined at Donald's Bistro. The dining room is lovely - candlelit and romantic. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed plump, juicy mussels for a starter (lots of the dishes are available as large or small portions) with pancetta and thyme, and delicious home-baked bread.
For main we both chose the steak that came with either garlic butter or a pepper sauce (we had one of each), salad and fries. The meat was lovely and tender and the pepper sauce was particularly good.
We shared a cheese platter that had 4 varieties (including a smoked, a blue, and a brie) and grapes, mini oatcakes and crisp flatbread. We also enjoyed very much the sweet quince jelly it came with.
No room for puds so we just adjourned to the bar for a couple of glasses of red - again very delicious.
A really good meal that made my birthday a very happy one - thank you Ducks and Donald's!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Dropped in as passing by and had seen in a hotel guide to the area.

Food was beautiful, with clean tastes and reasonably priced.

Staff were attentive and Chef came out of kitchen to speak with diners. Would recommend for a special occasion or anytime.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Sunday lunch arrival 1pm/no other guests alarm bells rung
Badly decorated
Dirty Toilet
Food poor why no rare roast beef? Out-dated menu/Unprofessional in todays market come on some training required!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place! Reasonable prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a quick meal here with my children. Food was good and lovely service which was attentive yet not obtrusive. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donald's at Kilspindie House also viewed

 
Gullane, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Donald's at Kilspindie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donald's at Kilspindie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.