We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blairbeich Plantation

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gartocharn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blairbeich Plantation
Save
You added Blairbeich Plantation to your Saves list
Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8RR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Gartocharn B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. Excellent accommodation well ,worth the money. Eclectic mixture of decor and art but with wonderful taste! We were made to feel most welcome on our arrival and enjoyed tea and cake out by the private loch in complete relaxation. Entertaining and vibrant hosts with a backdrop of peace and tranquility....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed for 4 days, enjoying the quiet, beautiful location. Our large bedroom was next to a small lake and we had full use of an enormous sitting room as well. Milla could not have made us more welcome with a different breakfast each morning. We loved the Scandanavian feel of the house. Many thanks for a really enjoyable time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We had a relaxing stay even though it was for only 1 night. The grounds are beautiful. The room and bathroom are large, cozy, and immaculate. Malla and Gordon are wonderful hosts and breakfast, cooked to order, was hearty and delicious. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed at Blairbeich Plantation for 3 nights in May 2009, in the small room, which has a view over the lake.

We thought this was a fabulous place to stay. The location was beautiful, quiet and very secluded - the driveway to the house winds through a small wood, so that you can't see the house from the road and you can't see any signs of other houses from the B&B.

The bedroom and bathroom were super clean. The room is quite small, but still contains everything you might need - wardrobe, television, hairdryer, coffee making stuff etc. The bathroom is very nice and has a big walk in shower.

Our bedroom was directly off the lounge, as is the larger bedroom. (The B&B area is separate from Malla and Gordon's living area, so this is the B&B lounge). This room is full of wonderful works of art, lots of interesting books relating to things to see and do in the area and has a fire that Malla will happily light for you. We were greeted by Malla when we arrived, and she served us up with tea and cake in the lounge on our arrival.

Malla and Gordon are both lovely and full of tips on where to eat, what to see and do, the best way to get to places for the best views, as well as lots of interesting stories. We followed all of their recommendations and enjoyed everything we did and where we ate.

Breakfast is lovely too - made exactly to your order and eaten around a big table with the guests from the other room. I had homemade granola and yoghurt and then scrambled egg and tomato on toast - the eggs come from the hens that run around the house! We didn't eat dinner in the B&B, but the other guests who were there at the same time as us did and thought it was brilliant.

Overall, I thought this was an excellent place, a real treat! I would definitely stay there again, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

great hospitality, delicious breakfast, heartwarming tea, high standard of accomodation and hygiene and good company. What more could you ask for?!

Conveniently located near the various resorts surrounding loch lomond which truly leave the beholder speechless and astounded - words cannot describe the breathtaking scenic views of Loch Lomond thus I strongly advise all to make this trip and experience such serenity for themselves and Mr and Mrs McDonald will make your visit all the more pleasurable!

P.S. Dont miss out on the Granola! lol

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Blairbeich Plantation is a lovely bed and breakfast hideaway in the Loch Lomond area. We had a wonderful welcome from Malla and Gordon upon arrival and their knowledge of the area soon inspired us to go off and explore. There is so much to see and do that we had too many choices although Malla highlighted some of her favourite places and made decisions easier.

The accommodation is wonderful. Delightful views, an interesting lounge area with a log fire to sit by on chilly spring evenings and comfortable beds to drift off to sleep in. The linen was good quality and the bathrooms were the warmest that I have ever experienced which makes the experience all the more pleasurable.

Breakfast is served in a small dining area where Malla offers her homemade granola, delicious preserves made by her own fair hand and eggs from the Plantation chickens to accompany homemade bread. (There is a pub 1.5 miles away with a good range of food although it's a reasonable walk if you want to have a drink and not drive).

This truly was home from home and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet base from which to explore the Trossachs with its numerous lochs and valleys and yet is within an hours drive or so of Glasgow/Stirling if you want to explore town/city life in Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2003

A Bed and Breakfast in a completely different league. Blairbeich is a beautiful place to stay and our room (Rickey) was stunning, with a large bathroom, huge bath etc. We had a gorgeous dinner and breakfast was cooked by Malla and it was definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed in. Lovely attention to detail. We didn't want to leave!
Much nicer and more personal than staying in a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blairbeich Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairbeich Plantation

Address: Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartocharn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gartocharn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Blairbeich Plantation Gartocharn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blairbeich Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.