We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Ayrshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afton Water B&B / Art Experience

Afton Water B&B / Art Experience
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Cumnock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afton Water B&B / Art Experience
Save
You added Afton Water B&B / Art Experience to your Saves list
The Dr's House, Inside Glenafton Park | Afton Road, New Cumnock, Ayrshire, Scotland, New Cumnock KA18 4PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 New Cumnock B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B in Ayrshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed with Julie and Alastair at the Doctor's House in Glen Afton a few times now and always hope that they have room when I am working down that way. It is very comfortable and warm and Julie and Alastair are always extremely friendly and hospitable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
James thank you for your lovely review. We always look forward to your visits. Alistair thoroughly enjoys catching up with all the news on the BTO front. He learns so much from your conversations about the birds in our area. Hope to see you soon, Best Wishes Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumnock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been to this lovely B&B for several art shows and have always had a very warm welcome. A beautiful house, set in a perfect location, with excellent art work for sale. If you want a relaxed break in some beautiful countryside, with a lovely family (including the ducks, chickens and the most adorable labrador puppy), book now.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Barbara. As you pointed out we are in a lovely rural situation, life up here in Scotland is so relaxed and lots of people remark on how chilled out they feel, from their first step into our grounds. I hope to see you for many more art exhibitions to come. Kindest regards Julie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

total amazing b and b and fantastic couple made me feel part of there family such a loving couple and so cheery and helpful..have stayed here many times and without a doubt miss it soo much when i leave the best place iv ever stayed in all honesty.

Room Tip: the ensuite room is my favorite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are happy to help make your stay as comfortable as possible. To be honest it is just like having one of our daughters stay with us when you visit our B&B. Best wishes Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have booked Afton Water 3 times now on behalf of the company I work for when I have needed accommodation for guys we had working in the area.
On every occasion we have found Julie and Alistair most welcoming and helpful. Our staff have told me the house it's self is lovely, very clean and they are made to feel at home.
Because of this feedback, I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to visit this beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your company review Anne. It was good of you to take the time. The young men are always polite and respectful. We enjoy looking after them once back in from their busy working day. They enjoy the DVDs and games for the Xbox, which help keep them occupied in the evenings. We are also lucky enough to have a newly opened pub just up the road, where the boys can challenge each other to a game of pool. Thanks again, Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A warm welcome awaits you from both Julie and Alistair. The place is always spotless and is entirely surrounded by gardens in which the hens and ducks run about providing beautifully fresh poached eggs. The rooms are comfy and best of all, there is no noise at all, being a couple of miles out of the nearest town. We always have at least one evening meal which is good home cooked food and plenty of it. The most wonderful thing about this bnb is that Julie is a fabulous artist and her work decorates the breakfast room where you can watch Julie at work or have a go yourself. I challenge you to sit through breakfast and not buy a painting. Its impossible! Everyone should visit this bnb we cant recommend it enough. Lizzie, Chris - northumberland.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Lizzie. Your review is lovely and I appreciate how much you admire the artwork. We try to make everyone as comfortable as possible and love looking after guests. It is easy to feel that you are part of the family with the amount of return stays you've had at our B&B. Lots of people have different tastes in art, my main aim is to showcase the lovely area of Ayrshire through my paintings. See you and Chris soon, Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

When looking for B&Bs for our consultant and contracting staff OpenSpace have had the pleasure of using the afton water on over 12 occassions which relates to about 30 B&B nights. I have stayed there on 3 occassions and I have found Alistair and Julie very accomodating with our requests for early breakfast - 6.30/7 am and odd getting back times. The rooms have always been clean and the food good. We have also requested an evening meal at times when our work schedule created eating an issue. Even though this is not advertised Alistair agreed and cook us something. Although we were there on business, if I was staying in the area I would take the family and take advantage of the great scenery and painting classes. Recommend to those who like family run, good standard B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks Jonny. We have always enjoyed looking after your boys. It is lovely catching up with Raymond and his son Paul as well as the other men , who are always so polite and respectful. We are eager to cater for the needs of everyone staying with us at Afton Water B&B. We look forward to the next time you are working in the area. Good luck with your conservation buisiness. Kindest Regards Julie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very warm friendly welcome from Alistair and Julie,Such a peaceful relaxing place, amazing views.
Lovely family size rooms, bed's very comfortable,wounderful scotish breakfast.
We took our two toddlers and felt extremly comfortable, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieandAlistair, Owner at Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
You and your wee boys were a delight and filled the house with happy sounds. We are looking forward to the next time you stay up here in Ayrshire. I'm sure the boys will have grown such a lot since January. We have ducklings and a labrador puppy that the youngsters would love. Hope to see you soon, Julie and Alistair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afton Water B&B / Art Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Water B&B / Art Experience

Address: The Dr's House, Inside Glenafton Park | Afton Road, New Cumnock, Ayrshire, Scotland, New Cumnock KA18 4PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julie and Alistair Winter offer you a warm welcome to this idyllic detached villa, which is set within half an acre of its own grounds with ample parking. Every guest room is dressed with original paintings and boasts beautiful views of rolling hills. Both the guest lounge and breakfast room also boast original paintings. We are well placed for attractions inc. Burns Corridor, the Ayrshire coast and Glasgow is only an hour away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afton Water B&B / Art Experience New Cumnock, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afton Water B&B / Art Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.