We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumfries House

Dumfries House
Dumfries House Estate | Auchinleck, New Cumnock KA18 2NJ, Scotland
01290 425959
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
Attraction details
dumfries
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband has wanted to visit Dumfries House for some time so I bought a grand tour ticket and booked us into the Lodge as part of his 60th birthday celebration.
What a treat we love visiting historic houses and this one is a little gem.
Our guide was excellent and we had a good rounded explanation of the house and family. A most endearing gentleman also accompanied us around the house whom I found so charming and helpful. A wonderful treat. Thank you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    40
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Historic Interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The house and furniture are well worth the travel time and the grounds around the house are wonderful

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A'Brideshead Revisited ' experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Revisiting a beautiful house which I knew in my childhood (please see detail in my review of our stay at Dumfries House Lodge) when it was largely under dust sheets during the war, but which I was able to explore with the twins( the late Marquis of Buite and his twin). It was so exciting to see the restoration and know that my memories ( vivid 'photographic' images!) were accurate. We should all be so grateful to Prince Charles for his imaginative effort to ensure the recuse of the house and the fabulous furniture collection. The future plans for regeneration of the local area and craft skills are impressive. We shall visit again next year to see further developments.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Our second visit, every bit as impressive as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved our return visit to this astonishing house. Robert Adam's first real commission and the early appearance of Hepplewhite's furniture. The Grand Tour should take 1.5hrs but our tour easily over ran with our enthusiastic guide. Prince Charles deserves great credit for leading the campaign to save this house for the nation, and for the regeneration of the estate and the work this has brought to the community. A must see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Adam house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went on the longer guided tour and our guide Rina (not sure of the spelling) was very good. She knew her stuff and was entertaining and informative. There was plenty to see and a lot of money has been spent on the decor and furnishings. It was interesting to see what a painting looks like after cleaning. (the Bassano.) The coffee shop only has ten tables inside and I'm sure this will not be adequate at busy times but the food is good. Mellerstain House near Kelso is Robert Adam and looks very similar to Dumfries House on the outside but is totally different inside. Both houses are spectacular and I'm glad I've seen both.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumfries House also viewed

 

Been to Dumfries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumfries House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.