We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no tips for the staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lochside House Hotel

Lochside House Hotel
New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
+44 1290333000
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
east ayrshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“no tips for the staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went here with my family for a meal, beautiful setting and a really nice meal, 4 people 2 courses with drinks £80. first class service from lovely pleasant staff who couldnt have been more helpful but who DO NOT GET THEIR TIPS, apparantly the tips they do get, subsidise their wages. If i am tipping waiting staff it is beacause THEY have provided a good service, i would expect my tip to go to that person as an extra.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    31
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stewarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Festive Menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Enjoyed a super lunch in the Afton Restaurant in early December. We chose our lunch from the Festive menu which offered a great choice and at a very reasonable price. As ever the quality of the food was excellent and the service superb even though the restaurant was quite busy. Unfortunately, it was a rather miserable rainy day so the view from our window table was a bit disappointing but everything else more than made up for the view!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

great location an facilities, but food sounds better than it is and the whole place is not value for money

search the area for better value

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place excellent facility's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Well we were there for a wedding and had a room booked for the night what a place just outside new Cumnock .
Food fantastic was very surprised at the amount of non residents eating there .
The leisure centre is a must so I can recommend this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanquhar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fine place for a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Four of us went along on a Saturday night and enjoyed a fabulous meal that was reasonably priced. From the starter, every dish was enticing. The mains were enough, while leaving room for pudding. We were celebrating the anniversaries of both couples, and we were looking for something special. The staff were eager to please, and while they were all rushed off their feet, they kept on smiling. The atmosphere was relaxing, quiet but not hushed, and an attractive decor. We all had a lovely time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochside House Hotel also viewed

 
New Cumnock, East Ayrshire
 

Been to Lochside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochside House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.