We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFTERNOON TEA DELIGHT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peppercorn Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Peppercorn Bistro
6 Castle Street Comber, Comber BT23 5DZ, Northern Ireland
02891 878888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Comber
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AFTERNOON TEA DELIGHT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed afternoon tea in the Peppercorn Bistro today. It was beautifully presented and we were spoiled with the sandwich selection to start with. This was followed with lovely scones with jam and cream, boiled cake and other delightful fancies. As we were unable to finish everything, we were able to take it home.
I have eaten here before but this was a first for my friend. She would not hesitate to return on another occasion. This was her birthday treat and it was thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Had afternoon tea served on vintage china ,delightful. The three tier cake stand was full to capacity with all sorts of delights from scrumptious sandwiches , fruit loaf,buttered, scones with jam and cream. Then top tier filled with all sorts of finger size sweet delights ..yum yum. fantastic find in Comber well worth a visit. Thanks to friendly staff, you made our afternoon even more special.:)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Down To Earth Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a small cafe restaurant but it offers good 'Down to Earth Cooking'. We called for sunday lunch and they offered a good selection. I started with a bowl of home made vegetable soup which was excellent and my partner tried the chicken. For our mains, I chose the roast gammon served with a selection of vegetables, whilst my partner picked the roast beef. All of the dishes were served pipping hot, the portions were generous and nicely served. The waitresses were efficient and friendly.
So for a good dinner at a reasonable cost, it's hard to fault.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MENU SELECTION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely lunch today in the Peppercorn Bistro. There is something for everyone on the Menu. Good central location with friendly staff and pleasing surroundings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Peppercorn is worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Called in for breakfast. Convenient town centre location. Very clean and nicely furnished. I found a comprehensive breakfast and lunch menu. There is also a take away aspect. I tried the morning breakfast of which there are several variatons. Their bacon egg with sausage pancake potato bread soda and wheaten was excellent. A very large Roberts coffee came as standard. Service was quick and staff are friendly and welcoming.

Lunch menu looked good so will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peppercorn Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Peppercorn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peppercorn Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.