We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable with great restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Schoolhouse Inn

Save Saved
You added The Old Schoolhouse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
100 Ballydrain Road, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Comber B&B and Inns
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable with great restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

When I originally made this booking I was told that the restaurant was closed but when confirming booking was told that it would be open. The food and service was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable but didn't have any tea or coffee making. These are available in another room. We went with two other couples and one of the rooms smelled of smoke. I did notice an ash try in our room! The photo of the hotel is of the restaurant and not the much more modern hotel. Good location near beauty spots. My rating is because it is not a non smoking hotel and we had a fly in the fruit salad at breakfast.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a fantastic Sunday Lunch with beef and all the trimmings. Selection of home baked breads preceded the main meal, bread was clearly just out of the oven. Wonderfull desert. We also had a superb Brown Bros wine served at the right temperature. Ambience of this restaurant is superb. Staff are really attentive....as usual. The restaurant is quaint so nothing quite compares, I like quaint. Will Brown the chef owner even came out to chat to us for a few minutes. It is evident he has been trained by some of the best chefs in UK. Would be my number 1 choice for a great meal. My only downside would have preferred more local vegetables and was not too keen on the desert being served on a slate. Small point and would still award 5 stars

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We still have wonderful memories of our trip to Ireland last spring, so much so that another one is currently being planned! The Old Schoolhouse Inn made a superb base for us, so I thought a few words about it may help others. The Inn comprises of a high class restaurant in the old schoolhouse which is connected to a modern building with several lovely guest rooms.

The guest house (think of it as a small hotel if you like) is run hands-on by Avril and Terry, who we found to be the perfect hosts. Our room was beautifully furnished and it came complete with a large flat-screen TV and the free WIFi was very handy too! The bathroom was a decent size with a bath (plenty of hot water) and shower over it. We had had a comfy double bed and there was also a proper single bed in the room. I saw another room with a King size double and I guess there may be twin bedded rooms too? A tip would be to call Avril or Terry directly, particularly if a triple room, as we were given, would be handy for you.

A full Irish breakfast (all included, making the price of our stay very reasonable indeed) was individually freshly cooked by Terry every morning. There was a large selection of cereals, fruits etc and freshly brewed tea, coffee and toast were delivered piping hot to the table too! A perfect start to the day.

We had some lovely days out. I remember driving down the Ards peninsula on the other side of Strangford Loch and stopping off at Donaghadee and Ballywalter before reaching Portaferry at the end with its car ferry back across to the 'mainland'. Another day we drove south, visiting Downpatrick and Newcastle on the way, for a walk in the Mountains of Mourne. We found an award winning fish and chip shop in nearby Annalong - ideal for lunch! Another day saw us up on the north coast to see the Giants Causeway, the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and the Bushmills distillery, an altogether great day out. On the agenda for this year is a visit to the new Titanic Exhibition in Belfast (around 25 minutes away) probably paired up with an afternoon at the nearby National Folk Museum. Castle Espie Wildfowl & Wetland Centre is just a few hundred yards away from the hotel so I think we'll be going there, too. Further afield? Maybe we'll drive down to Dublin.

A couple of very memorable evenings were spent in the Old Schoolhouse Inn restaurant itself. Delightful food paired up with a magnificent choice of wines.

The Old Schoolhouse Inn was home-from-home for us - will we be staying again this year? Without doubt, I'm off to book the flights right now!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

Birthday treat night away from kids friendly hosts/welcome rooms cosy with everything you need to make your stay comfortable including free wifi. The restaurant is very clean with pleasant staff, fantastic menu I had scallops to start followed by venison you wouldn't find better anywhere a'lacarte menu £24 for 3 courses extensive wine list to suit every pocket. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Out hostess made every effort to make us feel at home. Out suite was very comfortable and the food was GREAT! We would highly recommend this establishment to anyone traveling in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is one of the very best inns in NI. We were amazed with the place. Friendly, clean, and affortable with an amazing dinner menu, everything fresh and well cooked. The tableclothes might be a bit outdated but still this place doesnt loose a point. There is no extra kitchen supplies in the room, the place has a comfort little lounge with a warm fireplace, comfy chairs and a variety of teas you can DIY for free, plus a number of boardgames and books for you to use. The people who run the place are nice and helpfull and they make you feel like a king. The rooms are quite character, very spacious and well luminated. The area adds more to the place, with fantastic sceneries and a variety of routes to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at the Old Schoolhouse Inn because of the reviews of the restaurant on Trip Advisor and on checking their website they were advertising a deal of two nights b&b with one evening meal included. I asked about this on booking and was told they don’t do the deal in July, when we wanted to stay, as this is their busiest month (though the website doesn’t mention this) though they did give us a small discount on the room. We did note that one person in their review said the restaurant was closed when they stayed so I asked if it would definitely be open and I was told it would be.

We arrived and found that the owners, Terry and Avril, were away – Avril is the chef and hence the restaurant was closed!!! The lady left in charge was apologetic and offered to cook for us as we were on bikes and didn’t want to cycle back out in the evening. She kindly did and served it in the breakfast room. The food was very good, though it was just a main meal with no offer of dessert. We thought that perhaps the owners had been called away unexpectedly, but no, they were on annual leave which they take at the same time each year. There seemed to be only two lots of other people staying so it was hard to believe that this is their busiest time. The owners arrived back on our second day and Avril cooked the evening meal for us which we again ate in the breakfast room. It was also excellent, but still just a main meal with no dessert. Given that we were misled about the restaurant (the only part of the building that is old and has any ambiance, the rest of the b&b is a modern extension), when we came to pay our bill we were surprised to find that we were charged the full restaurant rate for the meals, and the charge of £3.50 for a bottle of Budweiser is the most we have ever been charged anywhere for a beer.

We found it a bit annoying that there was no tea tray in the room. There is a small lounge with a kettle and tea bags etc. As we were right down the end of the building it meant getting dressed, a trek up the corridor and up some steps to get tea in the morning, and having to wait in the lounge for the kettle to boil then trekking all the way back trying not to spill the tea.

Other niggles include there being blankets on bed rather than a duvet, the “double” bed was two singles pushed together, the toilet seat was wonkey, the door of the room opposite slammed loudly every time someone went in our out, and the windows were locked shut and we couldn’t find a key to open them. The house is right next to Strangford Lough but the only place we could see it was from the carpark, our room overlooked the road. There was a cyclists welcome sign on the front door, but nowhere secure to put the bikes, or any suggestion of where they could be put that would be dry. We chose to lock them up outside the closed restaurant, that way they were at least out of the rain and we just hoped there wouldn’t be an opportunist thief in the night.

Perhaps we are a bit picky – but we spent 3 weeks in Ireland and stayed in some great places. Unfortunately this wasn’t one of them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse Inn

Address: 100 Ballydrain Road, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Comber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Comber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Old Schoolhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Schoolhouse Inn Comber, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Schoolhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.