We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet sugar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarcane Cafe Bistro

Sugarcane Cafe Bistro
The Square | Unit 2, Comber BT23 5DT, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9187 3388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Comber
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Eclectic little Bistro in Comber Square. Now recognised in The Georgina Campbell Guide Ireland. Winner of the 2014 Best Eatery and best licences premises at the Ards business awards. We source great tasting local produce, mostly from within Co. Down. We are open 7 days a week from 9am with a gorgeous Bistro menu running nightly from 5pm Wed to Sun. Join us for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee and cake.
saintfield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“sweet sugar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

been several times in past few months .no wonder place is always busy due to fine food at reasonable prices. the service is among the friendliest and most efficient ive ever experienced. their early bird menu is really interesting and varied. highly commend .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    47
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed after some good reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Went in for a late lunch on a Saturday afternoon. Got the soup & sandwich combo, the soup was tasty and a good portion. The sandwich (chicken/chilli) was small and I was lucky if I received 10 skinny chips- cannot believe the chef sent the meal out as it was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete18107, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed after having a sandwich. You said that you enjoyed the soup but that the sandwich was small in size as were the skinny fries. The sandwich bread is baked daily by our local Comber bakery. The bread has always been the same size and this is the 1st ever complaint that it was small. We admittedly don't serve large overfilled sandwiches as we like to think taste over substance rules the day. As for the skinny fries. It's not a full portion of chips you get with this meal but a small basket of fries instead of the usual crisps most people give. Our customers love it and think its great value as we actually include them with all our sandwiches, toasties, paninis etc. You also get some green salad too. All in all we think it's tremendous value when compared to other places that just take a pre-packed sandwich, pop it on a plate and add some crisps. All of our chicken in our sandwiches is cooked instore by us. Again unlike most places that buy cheap, sandwich ready chicken in.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beaut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Brilliant food ! & hard to find a place where staff go out of their way to help you, love the personal touch. Every meal has been excellent & the staff are second to none. Keep it up sugarcane !. Look forward to our next visit & a wee bottle of Peroni :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Super food ! super staff !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Have visited sugarcane on many occasions and have to say each time the food and service has been excellent. From the setting to the staff sugarcane has it mastered & nothing is a problem to them. We look forward to each visit and even the kids enjoy going.
All in all an exceptional establishment which is going from strength to strength. See you soon sugarcane ;-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete18107, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you enjoyed our service too. We work so hard to provide great customer service along with great quality locally sourced food.

Hopefully we will see you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We love the Sugarcane' the owners, food, and staff are second to none. You are always made very welcome, the food is promptly served' the staff are always very attentive. The owners Emma and Pete make you feel very welcome and at home. Visiting the sugarcane is like visiting a very dear friend.

Jeff & Liz
Comber


Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarcane Cafe Bistro also viewed

 
Comber, County Down
 

Been to Sugarcane Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.