We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarey but good!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrick-A-Rede Bar and Grill

Carrick-A-Rede Bar and Grill
21 Main Street Ballintoy, Ballintoy BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland
+44 28 2076 2241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Ballintoy
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Description: Situated along the breathtaking North Antrim Coast of Ireland This warm and friendly Family-run Bar and Restaurant is ideal for Food, Drink, Music and Craíc. Enjoy a pint at the open fire. Bar Meals served Daily.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Scarey but good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The walk to the bridge is good but there are steps for anyone that struggles mobility wise. When walking over the bridge it is a bit rockey!! We took a picnic and had it the other side!! Sometimes you see seals!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We enjoyed this restaurant. We were wet and cold and the food was hot and the service from our waitress was warm and friendly.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“DO NOT eat at this pub - disgusting food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Tired and hungry from a day of sightseeing we decided to eat out locally. With a choice of two pubs in Ballintoy we made the worst decision of our entire trip.

I can honestly say that our party of three had the worst meal we had ever experienced – anywhere! We waited ages for our meals and when they arrived they were inedible. My vegetables were from a packet and had been boiled and served up to me dry and tasteless. My poor mother had the roast of the day which had obviously been microwaved as the meat on top was so dark and tough she couldn’t cut through it and the meat underneath was a totally different colour. The mash was disgusting – an abomination for an Irish pub to get wrong. This place really should stick to serving packet chips.

I could go on but by now you are hopefully convinced about giving this place a wide berth and saving yourself a truly bad meal…

Do yourself a favour and pop over the road to the Fullerton Arms Hotel across the road serves 5-star meals with great service (which we discovered the next night).

Desiree, Jenny and Jack (Australia – Aug 2011)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“meaningless menu they serve what they like and it's crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The place was not busy so they cant use that as an excuse for making us wait at least 45 mins for 1980's style school dinners. I ordered Mackeral with Colcannon and got Mackeral with 2 scoops of lumpy dry mash, no cabbage, no butter, no seasoning and no taste served warmish. My wife ordered Beer battered cod with peas chips and tartar sauce when it eventually arrived she couldn't cut it with the knife or an angle grinder if one was provided she returned it and got a second one but it had no peas or tartar sauce not that she was missing much because the tartar sauce that came with mine had split into something that looked like it had been out in the sun too long. So poor service poor food. Going to Ballintoy bring a picnic

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrick-A-Rede Bar and Grill also viewed

Ballintoy, County Antrim
 
Ballintoy, County Antrim
Cloughmills, County Antrim
 

Been to Carrick-A-Rede Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrick-A-Rede Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.