We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge

Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge
119a Whitepark Road, Ballintoy BT54 6LS, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9024 6609
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$137*
and up
Private Tour: Game of Thrones and Giant’s...
Ranked #3 of 3 Attractions in Ballintoy
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Landmarks
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“gorgeous scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

terrififying as im scared of heights but a beautiful veiw once your over.wouldnt recommend to go if you are not fit or have a weak heart due to the long climb down to it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    354
    120
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Another National Trust robbery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The area around north-east coast of Ireland is wonderful. I rented a car in Dublin and done a day trip from Dublin, the best option, as you can visit Brú na Bóinne on your way. But if you are planning to go to Ireland's most beautiful county, Donegal, you can carry on towards Derry and spend the night there before visiting the amazing scenery of Donegal and travel along the western seaboard of Ireland. Back to the bridge.....

From the car park, you first have a long walk up a dodgy path before you finally arrive at the bridge. When I first heard the price of the ticket, I wasn't going to bother. I resent being abused with prices. An extravagant £5.60 per person! This is just a small rope bridge over to a small rocky island with nothing on it. You can see the whole island in less than 5 mins. And the rope bridge is not even that old, just a reincarnation of a previous bridge. I wish I had listened to my original instincts.

Save your money and head west and south which are much more interesting......and most free or fair price.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not for the Feint of Heart - But Totally Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I first visited this bridge and it was closed due to poor and windy weather. We went back the next day and are both so glad we did! It was about 3/4 of a mile walk with steps and a rocky pathway, but nothing too difficult to walk. Once we got to the bridge, there was a bit of a line - which was surprising for us going during off-season. Only 8 people are allowed on the bridge at a time.

Crossing it would be a bit scary for those who are afraid of heights. The views are absolutely beautiful. Many many lovely photo opportunities! The smell of the ocean only heightens the experience. There are sheep along the way to the bridge. It was really windy, but not windy enough that they had to shut the bridge down.

No charge to cross the bridge onto a little island that juts out into the ocean. We loved this! If you're in the area, go check it out! Scenery is worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very popular - go early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Here's my advice - get there as soon as it opens in the morning. We visited on a wet Sunday at the end of January. There was us and four other visitors, so with the minimum of fuss we were able to get photos of each of us on the bridge on our own.

The views are brilliant, although it is fair to say you can get good views from a number of places along the coast.

On our way back from the bridge we walked past a constant trail of visitors, probably about 50 in total. When we got back to the car park there were three coaches there, so this is quite clearly on the tourist coach route. Be warned, if you happen to be here when the coaches arrive, you won't get the same experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a long walk for a small bridge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

the walk is over a kilometre and involves some very steep steps, i'd leave the buggy the car!!! gorgeous old fishermans house at the end of teh trail.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge also viewed

Bushmills, County Antrim
Ballymoney, County Antrim
 
Bushmills, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.