We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge

Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge
119a Whitepark Road, Ballintoy BT54 6LS, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9024 6609
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge like an insider
Private Tour
$133*
and up
Private Tour: Game of Thrones and Giant’s...
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Ballintoy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Galway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was totally unsure whether or not I would walk over to the other side, but what an adrenalin rush, absolutely spectacular and once in a life time experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    400
    130
    27
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Crossing the bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This attraction requires strong legs because you’ll be walking up and down a hill - exhausting. When I went there last March we needed to add further caution since it was raining so everywhere is wet and slippery. In addition to this, the cliffs at the attraction are not fenced!. There is a fee for the attraction (£5.60). The bridge itself doesn’t seem to be frightening unless you’ve set you foot on it. In my experience the bridge that time has been swinging which gets to my nerves but I did succeed on crossing and it has been an amazing experience. They'll also offer you a certificate after the bridge crossing for an additional pound. It’s just that the attraction fee is too much and the walk has been too long.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This national trust property consists of a walk along the coast to a rope bridge. They have just put in a new bridge. It swings a bit but is well constructed.

Great sighs along the coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Have you ever seen Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom? Well if you have, then you've probably always wanted to walk across one of those rope bridges! In Northern Ireland, you finally get your chance!

My wife and I checked this out as part of our vacation in Ireland and it's really something unique worth doing. The bridge itself connects the mainland to one of those little rock islands just offshore. Only eight people are allowed on the bridge at one time but that wasn't really a problem when we went. The bridge is very well made but still wobbles a lot; it is a rope bridge after all.

The little island you cross over to gives you a good vantage point to take some photos of the shoreline and you get some really nice views.

Overall, it's a fun little stop on your way to Giant's Causeway or the Antrim Coast, depending on where you're headed next. Just don't look down!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Originally, a place where fishermen from local villages used to come to have a good catch. An interesting sight to visit. It is not scary at all to cross it, the cliff on the other side is quite steep though. Allow yourself about an hour to wander around and take all the pics :-)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge also viewed

Bushmills, County Antrim
Ballymoney, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrick-A-Rede Rope Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.