We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Door Tea Room

The Red Door Tea Room
14a Harbour Road | Ballintoy, Ballintoy BT54 6NA, Northern Ireland
02820769048
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Ballintoy
Cuisines: Irish, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Myself and a group of friends had spent the morning coasteering in ballintoy harbour. When we were finished we were absolutely freezing and starving! we stopped into The Red Door Tea Room and couldn't have chosen a better spot to warm up and have a feed. The staff were so friendly and helpful and encouraged us to sit round the fire to warm up while they cooked our food. They honestly couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable. They even threw in a free pot of a tea and a free slice of apple pie for my friend who couldn't chose between the rhubarb and apple!
Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    109
    18
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not drive past without stopping for a bite to eat !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wonderful cottage, fabulous homecooked food, puddings and cakes, very friendly atmosphere with a cosy fire. WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT..........

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast was great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

My cousin and her husband were here on holiday and we decided to go to the Red Door Tea Room for Sunday morning breakfast. A lovely warm fire greeted us on a really cold miserable morning and staff were very welcoming and friendly. There were four of us and between us we ordered the porridge and berries, scrambled eggs and bacon and an Ulster fry. I had the scrambled eggs and found it hard to finish because of the quantity of food but it was delicious. We all thoroughly enjoyed our food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

the red door tea room is a beautiful ; clean; and friendly nothing was to much trouble for them food was excellent with a menu that everyone would be happy with it was warm and cosy and on a good day you could enjoy a coffee out in the patio well worth a visited

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful place to warm up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We came to the Red Door on the recommendation of the B&B owner where we stayed nearby. I can see why she loves it! We stumbled in cold, wet and miserable after getting caught in the rain and wind on the Carrick-a-Rede bridge. Our kids were tired and grumpy but they were made to feel welcome. First we chose a table near the lovely peat-burning stove, but kids being kids, they didn't appreciate it and we moved to a table near the pastry case. We switched tables yet again a few minutes later, but the proprietors never blinked, as if this was the most normal behavior. The atmosphere is so homey, we spent at least 2.5 hrs here sheltering from the weather. The lunches were very nice, with a few options for children including a platter of ham sandwich, grapes, cookies, crisps, and marshmallows. The mint chocolate cheese cake and orange cake were amazing. Coffee was good too! Sunday paper was complimentary. But what really makes this place is the family who own and staff it, they have created a very pleasant haven.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Door Tea Room also viewed

Ballintoy, County Antrim
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Ballintoy, County Antrim
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Red Door Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Door Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.