We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bengore House

Bengore House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballintoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bengore House
Save
You added Bengore House to your Saves list
8 Ballinlea Road, Ballintoy BT54 6NQ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Ballintoy B&B and Inns
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Bengore House is the finest B&B I have stayed in ever. It is situated on a hill overlooking the ocean and is close to the Giant's Causeway and many small towns that exemplify life in coastal Northern Ireland. The ocean views from the many windows in the dining room, sitting room, bedrooms and hallways are fantastic. The house has all the amenities you could wish for from heated tile flooring, warming towel racks, excellent beds, closet space and lovely all -tile shower facilities. I was in room 2 which had a shower that could accommodate a wheel chair easily. Joan was our host and she should actually have her own review as there are none finer. We had a long drive from Galway and were not really on time for arrival, but she had tea and brownies for us anyway. She sat and chatted with us as we settled in for the night. Fascinating person and a joy to visit with. Breakfast the two mornings we were there included cereals, Irish breakfast based on our requests, apple juice from a small farm in England, fresh strawberries, blueberries, raspberries from Spain, honeycomb for the toast and french press coffee. Joan definitely goes out of her way to take beautiful care of her guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanBaird55, Owner at Bengore House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and trip to Ireland. Thanks for your excellent review, I know you have been to Ireland before and trust you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here after a long day of hiking. This home was breathtakingly beautiful, and immaculately clean. Of all the places we stayed while vacationing in Ireland, Joan was by far the most kind, gracious, and attentive host. The breakfast was amazing, only to be outdone by the view you have while eating it!

The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure. There was fast internet available, and the house was incredibly quiet and perfect for getting a good nights sleep in.

I would recommend this B&B to ANYBODY I know. It will literally make you never want to leave Ballintoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanBaird55, Owner at Bengore House, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hello Erin,
Just to thank you most sincerely for your review - I really enjoyed having you both stay and trust you will come back to Ireland again soon.
Best Wishes, Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After 3 nights in this lovely house, my husband and I did not want to go home. The house is spotless, with lovely attention to detail and very comfortable. Joan is a great hostess with lots of suggestions of places to visit and interesting things to do and see. A great secluded B&B that we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanBaird55, Owner at Bengore House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for your very nice comments, I hope you enjoyed the drive along the Antrim Coast to Cushendun and Carnlough - it was a lovely Spring day with lots of wild flowers in bloom. I know it was your first trip to Ireland and I hope you will come back soon! Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Joan runs an impeccable B&B in a beautiful setting. The house is gorgeous, modern and peaceful. Breakfast in her dining room feels like you’re sitting down with old friends or family. The location couldn’t be better -- although, you will need a car to explore all of Northern Ireland -- just minutes from all of the main attractions and beautiful coast line. I’m torn to pick my favorite part of the stay… It’s a tie between the heavenly beds (seriously, so comfortable I had a hard time getting out of bed to go sightseeing) and the chats with Joan as we came and went.

Room Tip: Front of the house offers better views -- well worth the slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanBaird55, Owner at Bengore House, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, great to hear you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this lovely house. Joan is a perfect hostess.The house is spotless everywhere, there is alovely living room with a beautiful view , our room was large with plenty of light and nice Ocean view, superb breakfast, salmon and scrumled eggs!!! Night rest is assured, no noise here at all. Perfect location to visit the Causeway, White Rock, and Bushmills.We had a slpendid time here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a great place to stay! Joan, the proprietor, is very accommodating and interesting. She goes to great lengths to make your stay comfortable in every way. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llansantffraid-ym-Mechain, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Superb quality throughout. Quiet, with gorgeous views. Very high attention to detail and we had the most comfortable bed and best nights’ sleep we’ve had anywhere. Lovely breakfast with many extra thoughtful touches. Our hostess was incredibly kind and did far more for us than we had any right to expect, at no added cost. We were genuinely reluctant to leave after two nights and can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bengore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bengore House

Address: 8 Ballinlea Road, Ballintoy BT54 6NQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballintoy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballintoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bengore House looks out over the sea at Whitepark Bay to dramatic views of the Causeway headlands and Scottish islands. The house is half way between Bushmills and Ballycastle on the Causeway Coastal Route, A2, one mile west of Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and five miles east of the Giants Causeway. The house sits high on a hillside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty where the owners family have farmed from the 1600s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bengore House Ballintoy, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengore House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.