We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hostel, a room view !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel
157 Whitepark Rd, Ballintoy BT57 6NH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a hostel, a room view !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to spend one night in this hostel for Easter. I was honestly pleasantly surprised by how clean the rooms were, how great the common premises were (large dining room/living room with a fireplace). It comes with a shared fully equipped super clean kitchen. More importantly to me at least, was the super friendly and extremely warm and helpful welcoming we got made a big difference. Oh also I forgot to mention that our room had a view on the beautiful Whitepark Bay beach… all a really good experience!!! Great hostel for hikers, or any travellers.

Also, not too far is the town of Ballintoy where there are two nice pubs an 2 or 3 shops, definitely worth a little detour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, Public Relations Manager at Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Came here to stay for a school field trip for 3 days. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of services offered. The TV lounge was great as was the separate lounging area. The kitchen was good as was the quality of the food and so were the staff. they were both helpful and kind. the rooms were good and the view was stunning . Overall I rate this hostel highly as my stay was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a room with a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our third stay in Whitepark youth hostel. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location is excellent and centrally placed to access nearby beaches, walks and national trust properties. We enjoyed ourselves so much we booked an extra night. The hostel is clean, the kitchen well equipped, the dining area and lounge, spacious and the views are spectacular. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Do not expect the best comfortable place where to stay. The location is what makes the place worth it. It could be wiser to bring the place to a more modern facilities. Beds, baths and furniture could be renewed. The internet access is at all times expensive and connection does not work. Managers could think about installing a good wirless connection for giving an added value to the place.

Overall, the astonishing views make the cons to be forgotten rapidly.

Room Tip: Bring your own food, a good place in Bushmills is Hip and Chips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
two6seven
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have to admit, I expected the world of this hostel, with its stunning views and comforting location.  Hate to be the one to say it, but the staff seemed quite thick.  They offered little without prompting and were hard pressed to give direct answers to simple questions like which bus to take where, what to do, and so forth.  Everything needed to be checked twice or thrice and I wasted good time waiting for them to find out what they needed to know to assist me - information every hostel should have at the ready for guests.  I felt judged for responding to their suggestions with further questions.   

Wifi/WLAN cost a whopping €72 for 24 hours use at €1 = 20 min.  HI should be ashamed.  The desktop computers were not in service during my stay. 

The facilities were clean and modern and I was told that the hostel was recently renovated. It shows. There are lovely views (squared by window panes rather than a sheet of glass, however) of the coastline. The rooms were quiet and well maintained.  The showers were timed (although you could continue your shower) and the water was hot.   

When I stayed, the kitchen and main room were quite busy with children and families.  The seats that afforded the best views in the main rooms were offered or given to children whose parents who had let them play there.  This spot seemed always to be taken by kids playing rather than adults enjoying good conversation with great views.  That this was not an adults conversation area near the fireplace to catch up and exchange travel stories was to me sad.  And so guests stay in their own worlds while they are here.  There was indeed a hearth and lit fireplace each night, but no one was attracted to it and that sums up everything. 

In addition to these complaints, i want to suggest that the area of the Causeway is potentially homophobic and unwelcoming.  I had one negative incident in Ballycastle, an affluent seaside town close by to Whitepark Bay, where two teenagers mocked and frightened me as I waited on the side of the road for a ride. This was a first in all of my travels throughout four continents. 

In conclusion, it seemed clear the staff, in conversation, is not used to anything other than glowing reviews and positive feedback about the time spent here and the surrounding area and that is disappointing.  I suspect if they read this review they will not take it to heart.  I hope they do. 

My one bright spot was making friends with an American couple my first night.  I saw cattle on the beach, which was remarkable, and met a few friendly people on the way about, but only found true comfort in this part of the world with two of my very own natives and to some degree the scenery, which made me long for Chilmark and Aquinnah, something very rare if not singular in my travels. 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This Hostel regularly scores in the top 5 best hostels in the world, which has everything to do with its stunning location rather than the facilities of the hostel itself, no matter how modern and welcoming they are. It is perched on a glorious beach on the North Antrim Coast with amazing views over the Atlantic Ocean, and stretching towards Scotland. Giants Causeway and numerous National Trusts sites are within 30 minutes drive of the hostel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed for two nights with sons and had a fantastic time in Antrim. The location is amazing, walk down a small cliff face to a white strand beach, no kidding the cows really do come down to the beach.Best beach in the area for seclusion.
Can't say enough good things about this hostel, its the best I have stayed in ..... ever! From the welcome to the cleanliness, to the breath taking views across the north Atlantic. Met some very interesting hostellers so it obviously attracts solid people (as in no messers). Plenty of books and mags to read, well appointed layout including a tv room. Plenty of literature available on things to do in the area and very knowledgeable staff. Loved our two days! Thanks again to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel

Address: 157 Whitepark Rd, Ballintoy BT57 6NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballintoy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ballintoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel is an award winning youth hostel with one of the best locations in the world - with panoramic views of Whitepark Bay, one of the most incredible sea views on the North Antrim Coast. Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel is modern with all rooms ensuite, up-to-date facilities and a ramge of room sizes. Twin rooms have hair dryer, tea/coffee facilities and a television. As part of the Hostelling International Northern Ireland brand, Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel offers high standards in cleanliness, welcome, security, privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitepark Bay Youth Hotel Ballintoy
Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel Ballintoy, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitepark Bay Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.