We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star hotel, Five star food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Londonderry Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Londonderry Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Londonderry Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   20 Harbour Road, Carnlough BT44 0EU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Carnlough B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Three star hotel, Five star food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Decided to go back to the Londonderry Arms again after purchasing a voucher online. We had enjoyed our stay last time so we where looking forward to our visit. We had a better room this time which was at the front of the hotel and had a sea view. The room was tidy and quite clean on the surface, however this is an old hotel and so could do with a deep clean and probably some updating of its decor.
However the reason we returned to the hotel was for the food which was excellent the last time and we where not disappointed this time. The staff as all very friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble for them, as my wife has an egg allergy and so has to be careful with what see eats and has to ask all the time what makes up the various dishes. Even when there was nothing that suited her from the sweet menu they came up with an egg free alternative.

So as my title states, to us this is a three star hotel that could do with a bit of a clean and spruce up, but the food is five star.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    109
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
39
130
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

my husband and I have just spent a wonderful weekend in this lovely home from home hotel. we were booked in for two night stay and it was enjoyment from start to finish. Onthe Friday night we joined a backed out restaurant for a superb St. Valentines three course dinner, excellent food served by attentive staff. On Saturday evening we attended the Valentines Gala Dinner and again we were delighted with the menu, served by wonderful staff in the lovely surroundings of the Churchill SUite. This hotel is situated in the beautiful wee town of Carnlough. it has a lovely homely feel to it, were the staff like Joe and Jennifer become not just employees but friends. when we have stayed in the past we have been given a fantastic welcome so we will be back and if you haven't paid a little visit call stay, have a meal or just call in for a drink and you will be made most welcome.

Room Tip: Room 114 or 115 lovely rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I love here but my only criticism is that they need to up the portions. Ive been a few times & always felt i could of ate just a little bit more. Service was good & staff very friendly.

Please just a little more on the plate!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I spent the night here this past November. What a treasure! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean - the bathroom literally sparkled. Dinner was lovely, sitting by the fire and enjoying the delicious food. The entire building was filled with so many items of interest - photos, art work, books. We loved exploring. Carnlough is such a delightful village and the locals were helpful and kind. This was a perfect place to spend a night while exploring the glens of the beautiful Antrim Coast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Decided to take my parents here for a short break as I had stayed here before and enjoyed it. We weren't let down. The Hotel is among the most hospitable and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The location, views and food were all excellent but what made the stay an absolute delight was the staff. They are without doubt some of the most attentive and friendliest I have ever encountered - nothing was a bother and they were unswervingly pleasant. At over 150 years as an Inn, the hotel is reassuringly old and has that wonderful oldey-worldly feel that cannot be replicated and harkens back to a bygone age. However, don't for once think that it is old fashioned - it is far from it but has just managed to retain its heritage and roots when so many have lost them. On a cold and wet Winters day with the sea lapping over the sea wall, the rain tapping on the windows and the glow of the wonderful fire kissing my cheeks as I sip my lovely Guiness - there are few places I would rather be than the cosy Londonderry Arms, especially as the only decision I have to make is whether or not to have the steak or the seafood (both wonderful). An absolute delight and long may she live!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, ColorADO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This charming hotel was once owned by the Churchill family. Delightful in all respects. The room was quaint and comfy. The meals were very good. Beautiful bar and lounge. I enjoyed looking at all the memorabilia displayed throughout the Inn. Highly recommend this lovely Inn !

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel has a very homely, old fashioned atmosphere about it with very welcoming staff on a cold, windy pre-Christmas evening the real fires adding that extra welcome. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal with a visit from some very good carol singers, dinner/dance was in the function room, very relaxed evening. The bedroom we had was very comfortable with all you would expect from a 3star hotel. Full Irish breakfast served the following morning was of an excellent standard served by very friendly, cheerful staff. All-in-all very good value for money hotel, good food, lovely staff, could not fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Londonderry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londonderry Arms Hotel

Address: 20 Harbour Road, Carnlough BT44 0EU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carnlough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carnlough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Londonderry Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Londonderry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londonderry Arms Carnlough
Hotel Londonderry Arms
Londonderry Arms Hotel Carnlough, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Londonderry Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.