We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Khayber

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Khayber
4 Raphael Way | Galgorm, Ballymena BT 42 GQ, Northern Ireland
028 2564 1352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 86 Restaurants in Ballymena
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: also address may be listed as Unit 5 Galgorm Court 10 Fenaghy Road, Ballymena, County Antrim BT42 1HW ph no 028 2564 1352this is the second time we have tried to add this restaurant. please let us know if you've added it.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food, good service, great value 3 course lunch. Our small children like the korma curry. A very good restaurant which we have recommended to friends.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fab lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Myself and a group of work colleagues came here for lunch and took advantage of the lunch special which is something in the order of an amazing 7.95 or 8.95 for three courses. Admittedly the 3rd course is a choice of tea, coffee or ice- cream, but there is a good choice of starters and mains...I opted for vegetable samosas to start...lovely! Starters come with a range of dips. For main a really gorgeous, tender lamb and lentil dish, which I unfortunately cannot remember the name of, as it was something I have never tried before, but am glad I did! After some spice a wee dish of ice cream to finish. Lovely surroundings, very good (and fast) service, great craic over a lovely lunch...which was also superb value. What's not to like?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

First visit to Khayber tonight with some friends. We had tried to get food in other restaurants in the area but everywhere was busy.
Gave the Khayber a go after hearing some good things about it. It was very busy but after a short wait, they got us a table.
Service was very good and the food was excellent. No complaints from any of us. Good portions and cooked to perfection.
The Peshwari naan was one of the nicest I have had.
Hopefully will get to come back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and great service! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a family meal here last night and it was certainly one of the nicest Indian restaurants I've been to in Northern Ireland. There were 7 of us and we were all very impressed. We have been to several Indian restaurants and have even been travelling to India and all of us enjoyed it. The waiters were also friendly and welcoming. I noticed it seemed quite busy for a Wednesday night, so it's good to see a deserving restaurant doing well! Would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Has lost it just a bit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been here on numerous occasions but on being there just a few nights ago we found it has lost the edge a bit! Service was dreadful - we arrived at the restaurant at 7.15pm and we were getting our starter (after we had to ask for it again) at 8.15pm, having been told there was a mistake in the ktichen, then it was another 20-25 mins after we had finished our starter until the main arrived and it was just ok - could have been warmer which didn't help and the lack of chicken in my main was very noticeable. We were told the kitchen were under pressure - I say don't take the bookings if your kitchen cant cope. We were customers and the pressure in the kitchen - sorry but that's not our problem. Please spruce up your service & your food just a bit cause you are a good restaurant when firing on all cylinders!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Khayber also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to The Khayber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Khayber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.