We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spice Restaurant in Ballymena’s town centre offers everything for an enjoyable night out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice

Spice
78/82 Broughshane street | Ballymena, Ballymena, Northern Ireland
02825654352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Ballymena
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Spice Ballymena (Spice Palace) is an authentic Indian restaurant located in the centre of Ballymena town offering collections, deliveries and in-restaurant dining. Spice also cater for private functions, provide buffets upon request and are fully licensed with a bring-your-own option. There is ample car-parking facilities available nearby.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Spice Restaurant in Ballymena’s town centre offers everything for an enjoyable night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spice is ideally located with two public car-parks less than 5 minutes walk away. With an excellent selection of fine Indian cuisine to choose from, good atmosphere and great level of customer service, I can highly recommend this popular restaurant. I’d also like to note that Spice offers some great mid-week offers and take-away / delivery service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
R_Kernohan,

Many thanks for you enthusiastic review! Our location is very central and great for a bite to eat before heading out in town or even further afield as we are so close to The Spinning Mill, a popular location to have a few drinks while waiting on taxis and buses. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed our food, offers and service and we hope to see you again soon.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've been to this restaurant on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The service is always excellent, with attentive staff ready to help those that are unfamiliar with Indian dishes. The menu is also well presented, with descriptions of each dish and a chilli rating of mild - very hot. Even if the dish is listed as hot, just ask the server and the 'kick' can be reduced or increased to your hearts desire. Personally I'm a big fan of the sweet and creamy dishes and Spice does these particularly well.

Spice also has an excellent offer that runs from Sunday - Thursday, 7-11pm. 3 courses for £9.95. This is an excellent way for anyone unfamiliar with Indian cuisine to try a few dishes without breaking the bank. The offer's menu is quite extensive. I would suggest trying the King prawn puri, the lamb jallprazee and the peshwari nan....excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi kpnutsni,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant, it is great that you have so many positive things to say! Our sauces and dishes can be made more mild or hot depending on your taste as we make them all fresh in house, and we are often told that our creamy dishes are superb, the most popular being Chicken Tikka Masala and Korma dishes. Our offer has proven to be very popular with a wide range of customers, from couples, to groups of friends and even business professionals, as you say our offer menu is not the typical shortlist but rather extensive, with a wide variety to choose from, offering great value during frugal times. Hope to see you back with us soon, many thanks.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Indian in Ballymena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

we love our Indian food and have tried them all in Ballymena and surrounding villages and this is definitely best.food is full of flavour and very tasty,haven't had a bad meal there.can be quiet in restaurant but we put this down to restaurant not being very well known (not many of our friends have heard of it) and if they marketed better it would do a lot better!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Patrick F,

Thank you for your review, great to know you love our food and that it does not disappoint! We have found occasionally that some people didn't know we were in town, which is surprising because we are right in the centre, though we did pick up on this and we advertised in the local papers, we are now on Just Eat (although th delivery charges on there are incorrect at present, I am waiting on them amending that) and we did a leaflet drop door-to-door across the town. We now have a Facebook page and we are running promotions such as a 3 course meal for £9.95 Mon-Thurs. We are looking at some new forms of promotion in the new year, drop us a line on our Facebook page and let me know if you have any ideas. Hope to see you soon.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“worst indian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This restaurant is well over rated from what i have experienced, first of all the food is never hot only just warm even when requesting to make sure it was hot as we had eating here previously they still could not get it right which was disappointing.found the starters to be like they had been reheated a few times and not fresh ,which is a shame as Ballymena could do with a good Indian restaurant but it.s not be this one so quess it will have to the Khyber in Galgrom which a lot better .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi B M,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm very sorry to hear that your meal with us was not what you were expecting. All of our food, from our starters to our main courses and our naan breads are made fresh from scratch and we also use individual candle-lit hot plates at our tables to ensure that when your food is brought out hot from the kitchen it stays that way until you have eaten it. Perhaps you will dine with us again in the future and let us know how we do.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD but why no atmosphere?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have eaten here on numerous occasions - food is very good, well priced and nicely presented and to add to it you can BYO wine etc. However the atmosphere is non existent - we would usually be there on a Friday or Saturday night and as yet its never near full. Also if you are going bring cash with you - the card machine never works. I would like to see them do well but if it doesnt "spice" up I fear they are going to loose it !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Kilcurry,

Thank you for your review, great to hear you like our food and our new bring your own option. Our restaurant is split across two levels with our upstairs section, we are the biggest Indian restaurant in Ballymena, so later in the evening it may seem as though the restaurant is not as busy. We are thinking about changing our music to create more of an atmosphere, what do you think? You can contact us through our Facebook page to share your ideas. We have also resolved the issues we were having with our card reader, so hopefully next time you eat with us you won't have a problem paying by card.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.