We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of personailty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ballygally Castle to your Saves list
Ballygally Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lots of personailty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night with our daughter whilst on a bus tour. The hotel was very quirky and had lots of personality. The room was clean and despite booking a double/single room we got a triple - all the beds seemed to have plastic sheets on them and were very uncomfortable. The view across the garden was delightful. We enjoyed a set menu dinner at the restaurant and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    175
    68
    42
    28
See reviews for
126
313
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We recently spent a fantasticl time celebrating the wedding of a friend here. The wedding ceremony itself together with the wonderful reception afterwards (which lasted into the wee small hours) was all held at this lovely venue. From the minute we stepped into this hotel, we were met with very friendly, yet professional staff. The room where the wedding took place was bright and very cheerful and overlooked the sea. Mind you the sunny day probably added to this. All the food served throughout the day, from the tasty scones to the main wedding meal and then the buffet later was delicious. It was very noticable to us that the manager, Stephen Perry, who floated about all day without really being noticed, was completely on the ball and kept his eye on everything, and this was evident in the way the event ran so smoothly with such a relaxed atmosphere. Bedroom was shining clean and bright and breakfast was truly scrumptious with such a varying variety of fresh fresh foods. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in a room that had no sea view, however it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

OMGoodness. My friend and I just spent the weekend at this wonderful hotel. The General Manager David and his staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive. B kept saying she wanted to cry with happiness. Sea view, bed I would have taken home if only I could have. B had to drag me out in the morning.
The food is yummy yummy and the service impecable. David served me porridge with honey and a wee dram of Bushmills ... delicious.
The hotel is in a beauty spot. Hills and sea and lovely walks. Very, very comfortable big chairs to snuggle into.
I went and had a look at the haunted room. No ghostly fibes but the climb up and down had my knees knocking, Not for the faint hearted but when in Ballygally ...
They had the BEST EVER Santa greeting guests on Sunday and I had a chat with Sir William Hastings on his way to the Sunday Carvery. He's charming. The carvery is very good value and borders on the extravagant ... how wonderful. Chocolate fountain caught my eye but after a huge breakfast I was unable to partake of the delicious fare. Next time I will skimp on breakfast and go carvery.
I can't thank the staff enough for their kindness and attention. No way to mention everyone but I would like to say thank you to Craig, Andy, Heather, Sam, Scott, Ruth, Chelsea and the wonderful David who is about to be a dad for the first time. You are all stars. Blessed be. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year my dears. Hope to return soon. Keep my bed warm lol :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night and the service and staff were excellent. We ate in the restaurant from the sizzle and sip menu which was 2 courses with a glass of wine for £15, excellent value. The room was lovely with a large bathroom and had sea views. The whole hotel was spotless and extremely comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely but a sea view just made it special
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

bought a deal for this hotel having been given a voucher as a christmas present, worth every penny! We stayed there after a day exploring the Antrim coast, another trip well worth doing!, and arrived at the hotel to very warm welcome, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The room was very comfortable, albeit slightly small but then it was just an overnight stay. We had a room at the front & the view overlooking the sea was just a delight! Breakfast was buffet style & I gained 7lbs. just looking at it! A very expansive typical "full irish" & very good quality, I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ballygally was a stop between Giant’s Causeway and Belfast. Could have gone onto Belfast that day but figured it’d be more relaxing to drive a bit less as well as have the opportunity to take the scenic coast road. As it was we didn’t get to the hotel until after 9 pm. We didn’t know what to expect of the hotel (on the one hand there are pretty good reviews on TA, on the other it seems that everyone goes there on a groupon – which could be a bad sign). But it turned out to be a nice place, right on the coast, the most scenic parking lot on the waterfront! As with Abbeyglen (in Clifden) the building was not really a castle, although there seemed to be some old corner structures. It had the feel of a boutique hotel, romantic and luxurious. There did seem to be a few tour groups with elderly folks, not surprising as this is the kind of accommodation upscale tours would favor. Our room was on the second floor (#105), over the front entrance, with windows on the side facing the bay. It was shaped in a rather long rectangle, quite attractive with deep blue/cream toned upholstery, loveseat by the window instead of just chairs (a real plus). Bed was a large king (with wide twin mattresses), a bit on the soft side, and slightly bumpy like lying on bouncy bog land but not uncomfortable. Bright spot reading lights over the bed, fluffy bathrobes, spotless bathroom with good shower over a large tub and nice bath products making one feel pampered. Breakfast also very good, in the spacious dining room. Our favorites – croissants, oatmeal with whisky, and delicious local green apple juice (by then we’d been on the road two weeks and could not eat any more eggs for breakfast). The only flaw: wifi costs 6 pounds per hour which seems to be rather exorbitant. Aside from that, however, we were very pleased with our stay at Ballygally and would recommend it as a perfect getaway for special occasions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a one night bb & evening meal at the castle. It was brilliant, welcoming staff, beautiful decor and a bed soooo big and comfy!. The 4 course meal was really tasty, my hubby went for the ribeye which looked scrummy. Breakfast is buffet style and really good quality produce. The castle has stunning sea views and the ghost room is well worth a visit. The only downside would be the really expensive drink at the bar- a glass of wine and pint of lager cost a staggering £9.50!!!!!!!. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would definately return

Room Tip: Executive rooms face the sea front but the hotel although on a main road, is quiet and peacful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Address: Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygally Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.