We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballygally Holiday Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballygally
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballygally Holiday Apartments
Save
You added Ballygally Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
210 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QQ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Northop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night break in Ireland staying at the Ballygally Holiday Apartments. We went for the Ulster GP, we couldn't of found better accomodation and location, a straight route to the circuit heading towards the International Airport, taking around 25 mins.
We can highly recommend to all bikers who are visiting for races or touring around, to use for a base. A hidden gem that we will certainly revisit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DURHAM
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Absolutely delightful. It was our first visit and we were unsure what to expect. The accomodation was excellent and provided everything you could possibly need. You will find you will probably cook more than expected as the views are fantastic and better than any restaurant can offer. Everything is of a good quality and very comfortable. The location is excellent for touring the Antrim coast which has been put on a parallel with The Big Sur in California and it certainly is.
Jennifer the manager is also extremely pleasant and helpful. We had to change dates at the last minute due to an accident the night before departure and it was done with ease and no extra cost. You must visit you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Ideal location for relaxing holiday or break away. The view from the apartment was excellent. The apartment was very tidy & the facilites in it were fantastic. The staff were very friendly. Very enjpyable & relaxing stay, great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

It was mid winter when we stayed here, not that winter here stacks up against the -20C we left behind in Canada, so the 8-12C we had was almost sub tropical for us.

The apartments couldn't be better scenically located, just yards away from the Irish Sea with a fantastic view from the panoramic 100 sq ft windows, in the ground floor apartments. On a clear day (most of them were while we were here} you could see right across to Scotland, some 26 miles away.

The apartments are very modern, plasma TV etc, everything is in good order and the place is spotless.

The manager (Jennifer, aided by Polly the guard cat) went out of her way to point out places of interest, even loaned us binoculars the whole four weeks we stayed here.

It's an easy walk into the village, the only problem is the best pub the Halfway House is the furthest away, right at the other end of the bay, but well worth the walk.

Ballygally / Ballygalley couldn't be better located for the ferries too, it's just a 15 minute drive to Larne where you can get a ferry to Cairnryan or Troon in Scotland, or Fleetwood, England. Belfast is less then an hours drive away, with ferries to Stranraer or Liverpool, not to mention flights into Belfast from just about everywhere...

We have previously stayed in Belfast on a couple of occasions, great shopping there, lots of places to see and things to do, but it's nice to come back "home" to a place like this where you wake up to the sound of the surf not the sound of the city traffic.

Not sure if I'd recommend Ballygalley for folks with young children though, there's a great little beach, but, I'd say this is more of a place for couples to unwind or get away from it all for a quiet romantic break.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

We were booked into Apartment 1 which was fully equipped with dining and kitchen facilities. Jennifer Riley the Manager ensured we were comfortable and we had a breakfast pack plus a box of chocolate to welcome us when we arrived.

The kids particularly liked the bunk beds as well as the comfortable living room with the most gorgeous view overlooking the bay - I took pictures of it and posted onto facebook so that family and friends could look (with envy) at them ! The apartment had wireless connectivity so I was able to do so straightaway.

The bathroom was very spacious and so were the bedrooms - the place was also very well-lited with very cozy, homely feel to its decor..

All in all it was restful couple of days and the children were sorry when it came time to leave.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

Although originally from Northern Ireland, I have been living in Dublin for the past 20 years. My husband and children, however, have lived all of their lives in Dublin and have always wanted to visit the Glens of Antrim and see the world famous Giant's Causeway.

With this in mind we booked a week at the Ballygally Holiday Apartments in August this year. Ballygally is a pretty seaside village on the Antrim Coast Road, only half an hour's drive from Belfast. It has a beautiful castle hotel, post office, golf course and a good choice of restaurants and pubs nearby.

There are seven apartments in total. We had a two-bedroom apartment on the ground floor which was perfect for a family of four. The apartment was spotlessly clean and in very good decorative order. The bathroom was lovely - very modern and fresh. The kitchen was well equipped and a comprehensive food starter pack was provided. Jennifer Riley, the resident manager, was there to greet us on arrival and was most helpful to us during our holiday. The most impressive factor about these apartments is the view, which is simply stunning. All of the ground floor apartments have conservatories and the view of the Antrim Coast and out over the Irish sea to Scotland is breath taking.

The apartments provided us with a wonderful base for touring the Glens of Antrim. The Giant's Causeway was very accessible - just over an hour's drive away and we even crossed the Carrick - a - Rede rope bridge en route there!

Our children were very well catered for with the range of facilities at Carnfunnock Country Park, just half a mile from the Apartments. They also enjoyed horse riding and beautiful forest walks. Swimming in Ballygally Bay was great fun however wetsuits are highly recommended as the water is cold, even in summer! Golf at the nearby Cairndhu Golf Club was challenging but enjoyable - my husband refused to tell me how many golf balls he has lost!

I would thoroughly recommend these apartments to anyone looking for a relaxing, get away from it all break. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Modern, clean, comfortable and brilliant views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballygally Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Holiday Apartments

Address: 210 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ballygally
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on an elevated site in the pretty seaside village of Ballygally, these seven apartments combine luxurious surroundings with breathtaking views of the Antrim Coast and Irish Sea. There are restaurants and a shop within walking distance. The on-site manager will assist you with local tourist information and provides a daily towel and a weekly linen service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballygally Holiday Apartments Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballygally Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.