We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Wimborne Minster BH21 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
WEST SUSSEX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good old hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend during their special deal of £9.95 per night including breakfast. The room was good with very comfortable bed and nice bathroom with excellent shower, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer, iron and ironing board as well as large flat screen tv on wall.Breakfast was excellent, full English and help yourself to fruit juice, cereal, fruit, pastries etc. Also had their Sunday roast on Sunday night which was excellent as well. Yes does need a little updating here and there which is the only thing that stops me giving an overall excellent rating.It is situated in the main town square, plenty of things to see and do locally, including some excellent walks. Also short drive or bus ride from Bournemouth and Poole. All in all worth paying a lot more for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, myself and all the team at the Kings Head
Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    159
    77
    34
    21
See reviews for
64
198
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

A lovely evening meal at the delightful old pub/hotel. Staff were very attentive and the food was fantastic value. Select from the 'Friday Sizzler' menu and choose from a range of sizzling food and get a drink thrown in.

Portions not quite big enough, was glad to have ordered a side. My better half for the first time in newly 17 years chose a non-veggie option as she felt the choice was a little limited, no complaints for her excellent chicken fajita though.

Since the 'Fox and Hounds' has gone all gastro (or is trying to), this is an excellent alternative for good value food with great service in Wimborne.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
thank you for your positive comments Adam and his team
at the kings head look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had never been into the Kings Arms before despite being a local. We opted to try it out for lunch as it was very good value compared to other eateries in Wimborne.

We had a fairly simple jacket potato each which was only a fiver, but the portion of filling and side salad were mean to say the least. I had eaten much better at 'Fat Jackets' before.

As I say it was only a fiver and filled a hole at it were, but the Kings Arms may be following a bit of a trend amongst cafes and restaurants where they are cutting down on portion sizes rather than increasing the price.

If this was the case, it was very noticeable.

On a plus point, the bar staff were very friendly but not certain that I would rush back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch, we do hope you try us again
as I'm sure my team at lunch time would be more than happy
to recommend other dishes from our wide ranging menu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent Saturday night at the Kings Head. This was a cheap overnight stay. Lovely location in an old coaching inn. Service was very good the hotel despite being old was in good condition a very nice night out. We would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Myself and my team are really pleased you enjoy your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Currently offering two main courses (from special selection) for under £10.

Lovely old hotel overlooking Wimborne square. Worth a visit. Comfortable with well-spaced tables and helpful, friendly staff. A very relaxing venue, no noisy music and unhurried atmosphere.

Adam, the manager, is courteous and friendly.

I have dined on dozens of occasions and always been satisfied with the food.

Room Tip: I have not stayed in the rooms but am very impressed with the hotel as a place to eat, meet friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback myself and the team look forward to
welcoming you back soon. We will be launching our new Spring Summer menu at the end of
March we hope to see you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay in a "Superior" room (14) which we booked through late rooms.com. The carpets were stained and threadbare, damp stains on the ceiling and peeling wallpaper in the bathroom. There was a distinct musty smell both in our room and along the corridor. On asking at reception if they had made a mistake I was informed that no the room was a "superior" as it had a sofa!! Attempts were made to identify another room however non were available. As this was a pre-paid booking the receptionist did suggest that if we purchased drinks/food in the hotel he would discount our bill. We did not take this offer up preferring to spend our time away from the hotel. It is unfortunate that the brewery haven't stepped up their "refurbishment programme" as its current state is totally unacceptable.

On the plus side it is in a good location, staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful and the beds comfy. However, I would not recommend this hotel in its current state.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback Old English Inns is currently
undertaking a large re-furbishment programme and the Kings Head
is due for investment which will address many of the issues you've raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pleasant hotel with above average food and pleasant service. Our room was excellent, having been recently refitted and redecorated.

Plenty of heat on a cold January weekend and plenty of hot water. Pretty good value too and the place had an olde-worlde charm, as does the town. Good walking and loads of pubs to choose from. The Minster is worth a visit and there is plenty to do in the area.

Some of the public areas of the hotel are tired with stained wallpaper and threadbare carpets but i imagine they will have to do something about them soon as they have clearly suffered in the recent wet weather with many fresh stains on the ceiling and upper walls.

Would i stay again - most definitely.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road. Ours was no 29 and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: The Square, Wimborne Minster BH21 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wimborne
Kings Head Hotel Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.