We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, definitely worth a visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tickled Pig

The Tickled Pig
26 West Borough, Wimborne Minster BH21 1NF, England
01202-88-67-78
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set in picturesque Wimborne Minster, The Tickled Pig serves an eclectic array of traditional British and modern European cuisine. Proudly growing many of their own ingredients, The Tickled Pig also uses produce sourced from the finest local suppliers. The daily changing menu of fresh seasonal produce allows the passionate chefs to create a tantalising menu including delicious seafood and meat dishes.
Langon, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great experience, definitely worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went as a family party of 8 to the Tickled Pig for a birthday.
In summary, the food was fabulous, really great matching combinations (for example my Hake baked in harissa, .....delicious!), the service was great, the venue is very nice.........the wine list not bad at all (first time I tried a Romanian wine....)
All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Some small suggestions for the owner(s)
a) Could you serve bread with the starters? I did miss that.
b) Similarly, a ever so slight disappointment that nothing was served with the after dinner coffees (petit fours, chocolates), to really finish of what was a really nice evening.

Just my thoughts.

Thank you and hope to see you again,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    41
    25
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pricey for nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a surprise 60th meal here. On looking at the menu online, there didn't seem to be much that realy took my fancy, and the price seemed to be quite strong!
On arriving we found the menu to be quite different, and I chose the roast beef - very good!
The staff were very attentive, (but that should be expected at the prices charged) if a little slow.
All in all very nice meal, however, I did feel somewhat overcharged, with very similar food available for a lot less outlay

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by warm and very welcoming staff.The menu had an array of both traditional and more adventurous dishes.We were assured ingredients were locally produced and this was complemented by a very experienced and capable chef.I recommend The Tickled Pig for its fine dining or even just a coffee from their highly trained barista.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Under welcoming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The reason we are giving a poor review is the staff in particular we found one of the lady waitresses who was the senior of the two to be rude and not friendly it appeared that she judged our family on arrival and we didn't meet her expectations on who would eat there. We were a party of seven and our bill was in excess of three hundred pounds we had three teenagers with us and a three course meal together with a biottle of wine and soft drinks. The food was good but I wouldn't say excellent, the chef was very friendly and took some time to speak to a member of our party but unfortunatly one of his staff let down his restaurant. We eat our as a family often and our children are very well behaved it was a celebratory meal and treat for my mother who as just been through cancer treatment and luckily come through the other side and the waitress lo asked her. Turn her phone off which whilst understandable was nt put across in a polite way. Most of our family eat here and we will be testing them knw f our experience. Shame as the chef as worked hard to achieve hs reputation maybe they should stipulate who can dine there .....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Expensive Sunday Lunch..Could have got better elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked a table with 3 friends for Sunday Lunch. Service was prompt but unfortunately let down by the food.

Starter:- Tempura Fish, undercooked and served on a paper tissue (presumably to soak up and excess fat), however the fish batter stuck to the tissue so had to fight to get it off the plate. My partner had soup, which was reported to be bland with no depth of flavour.

3 of us had the Roast beef, with the only decent thing on the plate being the Beef. Yorkshire pudding dominated the plate, however this had obviously been cooked in the morning and the reheated as it was dry with no softness of a fresh pudding. The parnsip (just the one) and 2 potatoes were again over cooked, with the Carrot and red cabbage left swimming in the bland gravy. (no option to put on your own gravy..)

One of us asked for a vegetarian plate, which looked very bland and not very appetising.

I am afraid for a bill of £130 for 4 including 1 bottle of wine I would have expected high restaurant quality, instead we received food which was below the standard you would find in a corner cafe. I could have got better quality just down the road at Wetherspoons at a third of the price.

Our friends who had been before said that this was not the usual standard and though that it may be due to the staff who work on a Sunday. However i am afraid we will not be trying a second time as the quality should be good enough all week.

A real shame....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tickled Pig also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Shapwick, Wimborne Minster
 

Been to The Tickled Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tickled Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.