We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tickled Pig

The Tickled Pig
26 West Borough, Wimborne Minster BH21 1NF, England
01202-88-67-78
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set in picturesque Wimborne Minster, The Tickled Pig serves an eclectic array of traditional British and modern European cuisine. Proudly growing many of their own ingredients, The Tickled Pig also uses produce sourced from the finest local suppliers. The daily changing menu of fresh seasonal produce allows the passionate chefs to create a tantalising menu including delicious seafood and meat dishes.
Wimborne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The fire was burning in the grate, the candle flickered on the table and something jazzy but soothing was playing (Forgive musical ignorance). We were a party of five at a birthday lunch for two friends.

The brand of Sauvignon Blanc requested was in the cellar but not 'fridge cold', so the helpful waitress suggested an alternative from the fridge and this was suitably chilled and easy on the taste buds. All food is freshly cooked on the premises. The beef for our main course was beautifully cooked, full of flavour and tender. Coffee needed to be warmer, although on request, a jug of hot water was brought. (This is the third lukewarm coffee I have had here. Good flavour but some warmth please!).

Overall we had a delightful time. Good company, good food, good ambience and good service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    41
    25
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Divine: an absolute winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wimborne was so in need of a good restaurant but this is absolutely superb and great value to boot. It feels like you are sitting inside The Old Curiosity Shop. The staff are very friendly but it's the food which gets my 5 stars. I had Cornish Plaice, cooked in caper butter with samphire, rocket and roasted new potatoes followed by roasted figs drizzled with honey and a vanilla panacotta. I think the two courses came in around £15.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A really interesting litttle menu that is BIG on quality and right up there with the best eateries locally
Lovely simple surroundings, good atmosphere and really good personal service, all add to great food - the dishes have great flavours.
Book a table, this place is well worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A snort of approval”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Generous starters and mains, beautifully cooked fresh fish and perfectly formed puds. The people behind this business are evidently ambitious and are investing bucket loads of energy and imagination here; I think that 'the tickled pig' is unlikely to disappoint as it continues to evolve. Thank you for a fantastic meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Can't wait for another excuse to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Happy am I, we are going to the Tickled Pig again on thursday evening and I cannot wait we love the place for lunch or dinner. Admittedly it can be a little expensive if you have a full monty and wine but that is why we keep it for special occasions and as a treat to ourselves. Service is great friendly and attentive staff and wonderful food. It is also nice to see that most of the people who have taken the trouble to write have been positive a great start for a relatively new venture. As a resident it is always nice to have new places to go but it is also a shame that most do not even come close to achieving the standards achieved here. This resident is "tickled pink" by the "tickled pig" thanks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tickled Pig also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Shapwick, Wimborne Minster
 

Been to The Tickled Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tickled Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.