We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem of a Dorset Country Pub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Thatch

The Old Thatch
285 Wimborne Road West, Wimborne Minster BH21 7NW, England
01202 877192
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Little Gem of a Dorset Country Pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I lunched here today when passing, on our way to Ferndown. We have never been here before and if we had read some of the reviews posted on TripAdvisor beforehand, we would not have stopped. I'm glad we didn't see them because they are totally UNFAIR!! The staff were very friendly and caring, the environment clean and presentable and the food superb. My wife had the liver with mash potato and veg. Liver can always be a little tough, but not here. It melted in the mouth and full of flavour. As was the mash and perfectly cooked veg (fresh, hot and not soggy). I had the chicken wrapped in bacon with a sauce worthy of an award and all very reasonably priced. As for the comparison to 'Whetherspoons' by one reviewer, I can only assume he was a good friend of the previous owner and wishes to cast aspersions!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    10
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great start for new landlord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

this is the first time we have been to this place in a long time.we heard that a new landlord and his family have just took over .the food and service we had was faultless the place itself is tired and needs a bit of a makeover and hopefully the brewery will back this guy and his team.we strongly recommend that people visit it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Major step backwards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been to The Old Thatch regularly for several years. It has been a bit of a roller coaster with various management changes but the recent management (I think a family) moved everything in th right direction. They spent money improving the decor, sanding the tables etc and quite apart from that improving the menu.

However another new change of management sees the menu go back to basics (Wetherspoons style) and although prices seemed reasonable it was nothing to write home about.
The pub itself is charming and could be soo much better than this ... Try The Langton Arms as an example. Sadly not though, The Old Thatch new management has decided to go downmarket with their menu.

I always say that whatever grade of food to are trying to serve (basics or cordon bleu) then being the best at it in the area will mean you do well. Sadly this is Wetherspoons territory The Old Thatch find themselves in and you have a hard act to follow on price and service when taking them on.

We won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value Mon - Thu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had lunch here on a Thu and had two main courses for total of £9.99! Great value. The pile of Nachos with chilli was amazing. Could not finish it all. Lovely pub inside. Roomy. Good areas to sit outside too if sunny. Beautiful ancient old wooden door on wall inside. Amazing carvings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great surroundings, remarkably low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was booked by another member of our party for a mid-week family birthday and I was slightly worried as I had heard mixed reviews but I can honestly say it was a great experience.

The menu is pretty basic but very well cooked and presented which is what I want from a place, we made a couple of amendments to what was listed and these were handled excellently and the meals came exactly as requested.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food and desert was really impressive. I asked for additional custard (as a native Northerner there is no such thing as too much custard) and this was delivered with no problems, questions and some good humour.

With 4 meals, 4 deserts, a bottle of decent wine and beers the whole meal was just over £60 which is really good value.

In fact we enjoyed it so much that we are going back tonight (Thursday) to try out the quiz.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to The Old Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Thatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.