We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and thirst quenching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Thatch

The Old Thatch
285 Wimborne Road West, Wimborne Minster BH21 7NW, England
01202 877192
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Friendly and thirst quenching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice food...even offer lamb as a roast which is a really nice treat.
Dog friendly.
Some dubious entertainment at times.
Well worth a visit, book for a table at weekends.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    12
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The service and food were excellent, we have been many times, and count it as 'our local'!. Our friends that were with us the other evening, said it was the best pub meal they had had in years!! We agree, staff friendly, service a bit slow, but the food is worth the wait

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Old Thatch pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good service and good priced food busy when we went in and our 3rd visit will go back.
Staff very good and very helpful.
I have read the reports about the dogs and i dont see this as a problem as all the dogs were well behaved, we need to keep these pubs going and give it a try.
We have not seen any children on our visits.
The food is of a better quality than others in the location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Four of us visited and had various starters, mains and desserts. All were beautifully presented, well cooked and very tasty. We were all equally impressed by the meal and by our delightfully lippy waitress!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

we had sunday lunch today, second visit since the new owner . we all had Sunday lunch, it arrived hot with lovely fresh veg (not over cooked) the gravy was full of flavour and nice and hot. The staff are very good at making you feel at home and Rob is very good and needs a raise!! lol note to owner. joking apart really lovely lunch with great staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to The Old Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Thatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.