We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernhead Guest House

Fernhead Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne Minster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernhead Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7, Wimborne Road | Walford, Wimborne Minster BH21 1NW, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford England
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Very good B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at Fernhead whilst attending a concert at the Tivoli theatre last weekend, and were very pleased with our choice. The Tivoli and centre of town is about a 5 minute walk away.

We booked the very spacious Walford room which was in effect the equivalent of a hotel room rather than a B&B - super king size quality bed, Jasper Conran linen, leather sofa, silent fridge with complimentary water, ample wardrobe space, bookcase with good selection of books and then an enormous bathroom with double shower cubicle, separate bath and two pedestal basins. All fixtures and fittings newish, clean and tidy - all very acceptable.

The breakfast was really topnotch, fresh fruit (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries on Sunday for example), Greek yoghurts as well as ordinary, warm croissants, nice jams and butter, plus good quality hot English breakasts.

The owner/hostess is charming and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and she has certainly thought of everything - down to complimentary Nivea face wipes (and baby wipes) in the bathroom which was a first !

The house is on a main road but there was no audible noise in the house and we slept well even though we live in quiet countryside.

Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
36
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tring, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed three days at the Fernhead Guest House in Wimborne. It's ideally located, just a few minutes walk from the centre.

The breakfasts were fantastic and huge! We didn't feel hungry until late afternoon. Everything was spotlessly clean and there were some lovely little extra touches such as baby wipes for the children, bath toys, night light and blackout blinds, lots of toys, games and books, and little treats for the children included with the hospitality tray.

Beautifully warm room and the bed was very comfortable. Excellent quality towels and sheets too.

The best B&B we've ever stayed in! Hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Shakespeare room was an excellent family room as there is an adjoining room with bunk beds for the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It was the second time that we stayed at Fernhead Guest House. Definitely one of the cosiest and best kept places I have ever seen! When staying with my family we experienced the warm and friendly atmosphere, the wonderful, abundant breakfast which does not leave any wishes open. Furthermore, we appreciated very much the quietness of the place and the fact that we could reach the center of Wimborne within a five minutes walk along Allen river! Thanks to Karen and her family for all the attention you gave us! Greetings from Austria! Katharina and family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Clean, comfortable spacious family room. Double room for us and seperate bunk roon for our son with large en-suite bathroom - perfect! Our breakfast was huge with lovely fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, toast,croissants and full English! Phew!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I have never ever written a review on anything but felt compelled to write this due to the excellent service / welcome that I received when staying at Fernhead B&B. A lone female on business Karen made me feel so welcome. My room was lovely and the breakfast was unbelievable, it was fantastic, but I did have to concede that I could only eat half the amount of the previous days cooked breakfast on day two. :)
I have to come back to Wimbourne in the next two months and i am already looking forward to a return stay with Karen and dreaming of the breakfast lol.

The B&B is also well situated and I managed to go for a run around the adjacent fields and walk into town via the river which was lovely.

Many many thanks Karen for a memorable stay

Helen

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at this excellent establishment in September 2012 and were suitably impressed. We stayed in the Allen Room which had a nice view of the river and although the bathroom was not ensuite, this did not pose a problem as it was reserved solely for our use. The guesthouse was spotlessly clean and the beds were most comfortable. Breakfast was five star and everything you could wish for was on the menu - blew my diet right out of the water! Karen was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our 5 night stay here immensely. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The Allen Room has a nice view across the garden and fields to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My Aunt, my cousin and I stayed at Fernhead Guest House while visiting the Wimborne/Poole area in Aug 2012. We stayed in the Shakespeare Room, which was spotless and very cozy and had it's own in-suite bathroom! I would highly recommend this B&B because it was clean, and the proprietor, Karen, was extremely accommodating. And the breakfasts were simply sumptuous! By far the best B&B I've experienced!

Room Tip: If you need to sleep 3+ people, I would recommend the Shakespeare Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernhead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhead Guest House

Address: 7, Wimborne Road | Walford, Wimborne Minster BH21 1NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhead Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernhead Guest House. We provide a quality bed and breakfast service in the historic town of Wimborne Minster in Dorset.Room Facilities - Each luxury room is supplied with complementary tea and coffee plus bottled water for your enjoyment. Each room also has a flat screen digital television.Breakfast - is served in our Victorian dining room. Business Facilities - Photocopying facilities and free Wifi access is available for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhead Guest House Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernhead Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fernhead Guest House to your Saves list