We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub food, lovely location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Granary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Granary
Save
You added The Old Granary to your Saves list
The Quay, Wareham BH20 4LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Wareham B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pub food, lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The assets here are the staff, who are charming and efficient - and the location by the riverside. The menu is extensive and I think a little bit hit and miss. Some of it, like the starter of smoked salmon or the prawns in garlic butter, is good. But some of it is distinctly average. Some dishes come with elements served on printed grease proof paper ( my dad found this truly annoying ) and chips may come in a separate cup. It's a bit fussy. I would not call this a "gastro pub". In spite of the impressive sounding menu it is just pub food, and it is ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went to the Old Granary for lunch with friends on a wet Saturday. Nice venue and good atmosphere, unfortunately the lunch itself was very disappointing. The lunch menu was quite limited if you just wanted a snack, for example no soup on the menu. Three of us chose Coronation chicken in a homemade bap, with fries. Well the bap was tasteless, and we had such a small portion of chicken, they probably didn't use one chicken breast between the three of us! Chips were fine! At a cost of £7.25 this was terrible value, and we won't be going back there in a hurry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very good food friendly service and great atmosphere highly recommend. Not sure if the lobster was in fact langoustine but it was great. Another good point all the staff smile and appear to enjoy the job well done.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch today and all in all very good.. Nice whole baked poussin with garlic aioli and duck breast with local ale sauce. However dessert was very disappointing .. Lemon tart that had been over baked and split, it was pretty horrendous however after mentioning it to the young waiter he removed it from the bill which was very kind. Very pretty location right by the river
Would go back but would just try different dessert.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went there with my friends and this is by far the best place to eat in Wareham.
The food was great and well presented and the service excellent.
We had steak and it just melted in your mouth.
Good menu well presented and would not go anywhere else in Wareham.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol - UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited here on a friday evening as in Wareham for the weekend. Was glad I booked as it was very busy. Lovely location right by the river and plenty of tables outside to sit and have a drink and enjoy the view. Decor inside was nice. Menu was ok but thought it was a bit limited and it was quite expensive. Steaks were in region of £22....although nice I don't think it was worth that price. As it was so busy we did have a wait for the food - approx 40 minutes. Great setting but think the service and pricing should be reviewed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked last table on warm Friday evening on arrival in Dorset. We were warned of a 30-40 min delay after ordering, but it was worth the wait! My wife's fish and chips was best she can remember: excellent fish in crispy and light (local) beer batter. Pea fritters plus mushy peas tasted better than they sounded again thanks to the batter and good ingredients. Friendly staff, nice interior layout but short of terrace and outdoor space as on edge of Wareham town centre. Parking was a challenge but this was one of busiest days of the year and last day before weather forecast to change.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Granary

Address: The Quay, Wareham BH20 4LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Old Granary Hotel Wareham
The Old Granary Wareham, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Granary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.