We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Refurbished” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Red Lion to your Saves list
The Red Lion
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Wareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
swanage
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully Refurbished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

There is nothing to fault, Excellent Rooms, Excellent Bars and the Restaurant far exceeded our expectations, would recommend this Hotel without hesitation

Room Tip: Any Room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
47
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Just had Sunday lunch at the Red Lion. What a lovely atmosphere - the place has been refurbished to a very high standard. Is this place a little-known secret - because before it was taken over, I felt that the Red Lion was a place to avoid. Loved the ambiance and the food was very good. Staff charming - as I have always found them to be. Very quiet and peaceful - mainly due to the lack of diners - I'm sure it won't continue like this as the locals are soon to discover what a gem they have on their doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Four golfing buddies had a few days of golf in Dorset and we stayed at the Red Lion on 20th and 21st October. The refurbishment of the whole hotel is of a very high standard and immediately appealing with the twins rooms very spacious, warm, comfortable and absolutely spotless. Lisa and her team were great from the moment we arrived being very friendly and professional. As we sat at the bar wondering where to eat we had a look at the Red Lion menu which looked excellent and it did not disappoint. Superb quality food at very reasonable prices - well done to the guys in the kitchen, the Paul Weller and Matt Cardle look-a-likes! Will definitely use the Red Lion again as I'm also often in the are a on business.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a great value Hotel, really friendly staff with no request too much trouble. Only stayed for 1 night in a fabulous room, large, well furnished and spotless with ensuite facilities. The food was also superb, well presented, well priced and very tasty. The only thing I would advise if you are a light sleeper would be to request a room at the rear of the Hotel, as the Clock Tower is right across the road from the room we had and chimes every hour, on the hour, but a minor discomfort to what was a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stopped for 2 nights 8th and 9th October 2011. We asked for a quiet room and were given a lovely spacious well decorated room at the rear of the property away from the road. The furniture was eclectic and it worked well with the decor.

But best of all (for me) the room had good dark curtains which were effective at keeping out the early morning light. This seems to be more and more of a rareity these days.

We ate in the pub restaurant on Saturday night and had a very good main course, well priced and tasty.

Breakfast is a bit slow as everything is cooked to order, but it is worth the wait.

The staff and inparticular Beth the assistant manager were very friendly and when we asked for the heating to be put on, on the Sunday evening to warm the towels through, they were very obliging.

The Red Lion is in the centre of Wareham, a nice Dorset market town with several good real ale pubs. Wareham is handy for Poole, Corfe Castle and the lovely south Dorset coast.

There is parking right outside the pub for a handful of cars, but you do need to ring them to advise that you are almost there, as they need to unchain the car parking spaces to let you in.

The bar is all very well done, new and clean, but currently it lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I had a really great meal at the Red Lion in Wareham on Thursday evening. It was so nice I felt propelled to write about it. We are local we live in Wareham. We work hard and long hours both of us cook very well so don’t really get the chance to eat out mainly because of the high cost of standard every day food served at so many eateries. Not at the Red Lion, lovely décor, lovely staff, and great quality really tasty food, reasonably priced and enough on the plate. Give it a go you won’t be disappointed. Compliments to the chef

The Barretts

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Rooms are very big and bathrooms too. Service is very good indeed, helping us with food intolerance issues. The evening food was very nice indeed. The best was the popular choices as the specials were quite rich and the puds too for my taste. The breakfast was good but the bacon was smoked and no fruit at all.
Small points were need for shelves in the bathroom and the need for a proper shower. But these are minor and do not detract from rooms that are worth the £100 per night we paid.
It is a town position so there is some noise but a good location for the river and town walks.
Overall we really enjoyed it and would rate it top marks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.