We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but NOT in Sturminster Newton !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crown Road | Marnhull, Sturminster Newton DT10 1LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good but NOT in Sturminster Newton !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have tried to point this out to Tripadvisor before but this hotel is not in Sturminster Newton. It is in the large village of Marnhull between Sturminster Newton and Gillingham and a car is needed if you wish to visit Sturminster Newton as it would be a very long walk indeed !
We went here for dinner and the staff were welcoming on a busy night and the food was tasty. We had a chicken breast with Chorizo and peppercorn sauce. It came with a decent amount of veg and saute potatoes which were of decent quality. Our son had the children's ham egg and chips which was also good. The pudding menu offered children sized portions of adult puddings which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Four of us (2 couples) stayed here for the Dorset Steam fair! We can not fault the place!!
The staff are really friendly and very efficient, the evening meals and breakfasts are first class, the rooms are very well thought out and are spotlessly clean. There is ample safe parking nearby.
We would definitely return here and highly recommend this pub and its accommodation!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were on a stopover on the way down to the West Country. Our suite was large, well maintained and well furnished, the food and drink in the pub was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was superb and lasted us all the next day to finish our journey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lucetta room which I think is the largest suite, it was certainly well appointed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We found rooms to be very clean and very well arranged with plenty of room, the building is stunning! The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much they were particularly good at recommending places to go, would definitely come back thank you for a lovely stay :))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked relatively last minute and got a great deal. We arrived about 5 pm and were shown to our rooms. I was immediately impressed with the size and high standard of the room and the lovely bathroom. I immediately noticed the noise from the road which was still noticeable even when the window and secondary double glazing were closed. I was dreading a poor night, but thanks to my ear-plugs and the lovely comfortable king bed, I slept until the alarm went off!! We had dinner in the pub that evening which was very good. My sister and I opted to share a main course of hake as we were not too hungry and the staff offered to put this on two separate plates which was very helpful. Apparent,y the road turkey was delicious. The food was tasty and good. Breakfast was good too. Just fruit juice, cereal (no fruit) and full English. Coffee was good too. The waiter was very friendly and showed us around the pub and explained the history. I would definitely recommend a stop here, just make sure you bring the ear-plugs for the notice from the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The management of this lovely old pub/restaurant understand one of the key secrets of the trade, hospitality. We arrived to a really warm welcome, polite, accommodating staff and excellent cold beer. The positive experience continued as we were shown to a big, well furnished room with a really nice modern bathroom; the young guy who showed us to the room could not have been more helpful, even pointing out a couple of "problems" that had previously been reported incorrectly, as he demonstrated. The room was by the road which was noisy but this is very difficult to overcome in such an old building and it did quieten down after 11pm through till 6am; the reality is that you need to be prepared to compromise, from my standpoint it's worth it.
Dinner was simple, good quality fare and the house red proved to be a very acceptable, sensibly priced Cabernet Sauvignon; again, the service was attentive and delivered with a smile.
We had been warned that breakfast could be a bit drawn out and I would definitely imagine those in a hurry might get rather stressed. For those such as ourselves, it was simply one of the best breakfasts you could imagine, why rush it.
Good people, good food & drink and lovely accommodation; these folk deserve to succeed and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that doesn't back onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I popped in to this charming country pub for a meal yesterday evening. The food was first class and the service even better! The bar manager James was so helpful and friendly and we could not fault the food that was cooked by the chef, Sercha. I would definitely recommend this pub and I have no doubt that we will eat there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Road | Marnhull, Sturminster Newton DT10 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sturminster Newton
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Sturminster Newton, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.