We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Smuggler's Inn to your Saves list
The Smuggler's Inn
Osmington, Osmington Mills, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Absolutely stunning place to eat,drink,sleep and the surroundings are breathtaking and the staff are fantastic!
Barbie and Mike treated us like royalty and I can't wait it return there
Mike and Barbie work very very hard as this place is a gold mine I imagine there feet must be killing em at the end of the shift
Service was excellent also from the breakfast and dinner staff plenty of selection on the menus

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are nice to wake up in when the sun is shining
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    37
    19
    21
    13
See reviews for
45
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in April. The location is outstanding and a great base for visiting the area. We ate in the restaurant 3 nights and enjoyed every meal. The real quality of the Smugglers Inn lies in the staff. Every person went out of their way to ensure our stay was good. It is sad that the quality of the rooms is not up to the same standards. All minor problems but they should be addressed to give full value for the money.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here but had a beautiful meal. Second time we have been as we live in lancashire and we loved it so much last time we were in Dorset we decided to come back for our last evening meal. We were an hour's drive away so that tells you how much we love this place! Stunning location, fabulous food, desserts to die for and all in all a fantastic place to eat!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Nice, cosy environment and lovely location but I expect that's what's keeping this place busy as the food is nothing amazing. Don't get me wrong, I ate it. But I wouldn't be heading back here for a special occasion. Also, the gravy left a nasty greasy film in my mouth. Yuck.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

7 of us stopped here for light lunch after coastal path walk. Attractive pub and friendly staff. Baguettes were doughy, dry and had meagre fillings - was told that they were to Company Specification (Hall and Woodhouse please note). Did not feel we had value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in early March with our dogs. Bedroom was spacious, well equipped and very warm, only downside is the amount of noise from the neighbouring rooms. The dogs were welcome in all areas and were able to accompany us to breakfast. Staff were friendly, food was good if a little overpriced. Overall a nice place to stay it just lacked a little finess

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C, The Smugglers Inn at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Smugglers. I'm disappointed to hear you were disturbed by our other guests. We'd love to speak to you in more detail about your feedback, we have sent you a message via Trip Advisor hopefully this has been received. We are looking forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We called in to this venue last weekend on Sunday. On walking in we were faced by a rather brusque young lady asking if she could help but in a rather hostile way. When I walked towards the bar I was told that everything was waiter served and did we have a reservation. We were found a table and then had to wait ten minutes for a drinks and food order to be taken and another ten minutes for the drinks to arrive. The food did arrive soon afterwards and was reasonable though if not a little expensive for what it was. We both had their Sunday roast. I had pork and my wife beef. When the waiter enquired if everything was ok I mentioned the beef was tough and instead of an apology was told that this could happen with beef. Not if you use the right butcher we said. No apology from him so we paid the bill and left. We will not be returning. Overall feeling was that it was a little pretentious for what it was

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C, Smugglers Inn at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear David, Thank you for your entry onto Trip Advisor about your visit to The Smugglers and I am sorry you had such a poor experience. There are no excuses for rudeness nor putting things right when Guests are unhappy with a meal and I am sorry this happened. As a direct result of your valued feedback, we have shared your experience with the Team who were working to ensure we learn from it. I would like to reassure you that your experience is rare given the feedback we receive from Guests both at The Brewery and on Trip Advisor but we are not complacent and always strive to improve. I am sad you have stated you will never return and only hope you will reconsider in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmington Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smuggler's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.