We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Lodge Hotel

Portland Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Portland Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Easton Lane, DT5 1BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the family rooms and found Portland Lodge to be a friendly & hospitable B&B. Yes, the rooms are basic but perfectly clean and suited us (2adults, 2 young boys) well. The breakfasts were very well done and plenty to choose from with good size portions. If you're looking for a base to explore Weymouth & Portland then you can't fault this place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed here twice this year for a long weekend. The room had everything that I needed, tea/coffee making facilities, a good sized double bed and a clean en-suite shower room. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very good with a variety of cereals, fruit juices and of course a full English breakfast. It does not have a bar or facilities for an evening meal, which I would have liked.

Room Tip: If possible book a room at the back of the hotel as it it very close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Basic but clean and comfortable accommodation and a perfect base to explore Weymouth & Portland.
The gent who checked us in was very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was a little cramped due to a small dining room but if you are patient, you will be fine.
Situated yards from a bus stop that links Portland Bill an Weymouth with buses every 8 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having read the reviews only after I'd booked I started to get a bit nervous. However, as three grown men visiting Dorset we only really needed an adequate night's sleep each night so I was hopeful that we could get by. To be honest it was a relief to find somewhere at short notice in Dorset for that price.
When we arrived we went into reception and were grunted at by "The Surly Woman". Not an impressive start but she turned out to be fine once you got past the lack of social skills. We had a room with a double and two singles. There was an en suite bathroom with a very good shower which was a major plus. Tea and coffee stuff was as usual with the standard B and B issue small teacups, mini-kettle and limited milk. There is also the standard small wall-mounted TV that doesn't initially appear to work (hint - press the DTV button on the remote and it's fine).

We dumped our stuff and explored the island for the night. For those not familiar with Portland it has one of the finest views in Dorset (looking out over the harbour and Chesil beach) and it's just a couple of hundred yards from this lodge. Very chuffed with that. And the skies are wonderfully dark. Still a bit of light pollution from Weymouth but not bad at all.
As for amenities, there is a 7-11 Spar/Esso garage next door and a few pubs in the village half a mile down the road. Beautiful, wonderful gem of an island, but I digress....

When we got back to the hotel I had one of the worst night's sleep in any hotel room. The single beds are proper singles. I've not been in one since I was a boy and I was terrified that I would fall out. I solved this problem by putting the room's wooden chair (well what else use is it?) back-to-back against the bed so I felt a little more secure. The other single was against a wall so not a problem there. The only duvet is too warm for summer and there isn't an alternative. With the windows open the traffic is very loud (though there's not too much after 11). The curtains are very thin (I'm used to blackout blinds) so take some eyeshades. The walls are thin but the residents were very quiet on this occasion so earplugs not needed (and this coming from someone who is completely noise intolerant).

The big issue for me on the first night was the fire alarm going off three times in the early hours. The Surly Woman didn't know what had caused it but it didn't happen again and we found out later that the culprits had been thrown out.

After this initial hiccup I found this place to be perfectly adequate for what we wanted. Managed to sleep pretty well, no different to any other place. Incidentally there was a bit of confusion about how long we had booked for and they wanted to us to pay for an extra night. When I mentioned to the manager about Monday night's fire alarm problems and asked if we could avoid having to pay for the extra night she was quite reasonable and let us have that night for free. Good customer service that is sometimes lacking in much larger institutions.

Cooked breakfast was good - but to be honest it's difficult to get a fried breakfast wrong. The mushrooms and bacon had been done in the same pan which added to the flavours. Other than that very standard fare. Service quick and the young lad working there was very helpful. Cereal and other bits and pieces available as per usual. Toast was excellent.

All in all pretty happy with this. Definitely an interesting adventure and that's what low budget places should be like. If you're not house proud and just want a bed for the night then this is a pretty good option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked this via Groupon for a three night stay. We managed 1 night! We had a ground floor family room very basic. Very dirty and damaged ceiling, underneath the bed hadn't seen a Hoover for a while and there was a very musty smell which hit you upon entering the room. I am staggered this is a 3 star rating. The shower leaked and showed signs of mould inside. Frayed towels. Our mistake was to handover the balance before we'd seen the room. We should have spotted the tell tale signs of the car park as we pulled in but thought not to judge on first impressions! I travel for work and this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We went down for breakfast before departing but only had the cereal as looked at table where cereals were and the tupperware bowl containing the grapefruit had dirt on it we left without saying a word as we didn't think we would be understood!
The size of the room was ok and the bathroom looked clean until you opened the shower door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for one Friday night for my partner's birthday. The female receptionist who welcomed us was very kind and knowledgeable. She gave us lots of ideas and we ended up walking 5 mins to share a bottle of bubbly on the cliff top with some AMAZING views of the sunset. 10 Mins the other side of the hotel was the local town, where we found a nice little pub, and the receptionist! It was a lovely night and although the rooms were fairly basic, the bathroom was a lot bigger than I expected as was the cupboard space. The breakfast was cooked to order and there was plenty of choice if you didn't want a fry up.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 4 adults in a family room in April.

The room had two singles and a double bed, wardrobe and drawers. Think of staying at your grans in her spare room and you will have a good idea of what its like - but that is not a criticism!

Room was clean, warm and there was plenty of room. There are no facilities at the lodge except breakfast so it really is just a base for whatever you want to do and for that it's fine. The shower was good - lots of hot water at the right pressure.

Lovely breakfast and the ladies who served and cooked it were able to point us in the direction of a great pub locally where we had a great night.

We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Lodge Hotel

Address: Easton Lane, DT5 1BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portland Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Portland Lodge is a modern hotel offering clean, fresh rooms with comfortable beds, en suite facilities with showers and a traditional English breakfast. All bedrooms contain hospitality trays and colour TV. Hairdryers and Wireless Broadband Internet access are available on request. Seven rooms are designed for the physically disabled. Storing and drying facilities available for sailors and divers equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Portland Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Lodge Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.