We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOULD HAVE 4 STARS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Heights Hotel to your Saves list
The Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“SHOULD HAVE 4 STARS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

a real gem of a hotel our room was large bright and cheerfull spotlessley clean had a good couple of nights sleep nice and quite and comfy bed.
food in the bistro was wonderfull along with the staff al very freindly made us feel very welcome.
After a very long walk to the lighthouse I had a nice pedicure in the beauty salon no appointment needed.
All in all a wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    110
    66
    26
    16
See reviews for
50
142
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Stayed for two nights over the New Year in a superior room, which was reasonable size as was the bathroom, decor a bit dark and not quite to my taste, but the room was clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant was reasonable although a little pricey. Staff throughout were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at The Heights, the breakfast was particularly good. Surrounded by amazing views and stunning scenery i think this hotel is very good value for money and my 19 year-old enjoyed the bar and steam room in particular.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colly11
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Spectacular views in the setting sun, overlooking the Causeway whilst sipping Cocktails on the patio, coupled with friendly, efficient service & smart, clean tidy rooms, with the additional bonus of an outdoor pool if the weather is right; made me extend my night's stay to two nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed here on a short break with my husband and young children in early September. The views from this hotel are amazing. The service was lovely and the staff were very helpful with the children. Breakfast was fantastic.

The attitude of the staff was very relaxed which really helped us to relax with the children. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a mini break with a young family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at the Heights over the Bank Holiday and were happy with the service from the friendly staff, however the rooms felt rather old fashioned and could do with updating. Breakfast was very good, and the fruit from the cold buffet and the undyed smoked haddock , cooked to order, a real treat. the views are indeed spectacular and we were lucky enough to have a sunny morning. We found the bistro prices rather steep for a family and so chose to eat elsewhere in the evening.

The day we checked out we were able to stay around and use the outdoor pool and had we had more time would certainly have taken advantage of the very reasonably priced treatments in the spa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west uk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

really doesn't meet expectations and very expensive for what you actually get. Rooms old and antiquated, Health Club not up to spec, outside pool small, very exposed. Also being a smoker they've got some very draconian thoughts on where you are allowed to smoke. Views good and staff are friendly, so I'd really suggest going there for afternoon tea as opposed to spending the night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isle of Portland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.