We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dated, but clean and reasonable food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Heights Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Slightly dated, but clean and reasonable food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Stayed for two nights over the New Year in a superior room, which was reasonable size as was the bathroom, decor a bit dark and not quite to my taste, but the room was clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant was reasonable although a little pricey. Staff throughout were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    90
    57
    22
    15
See reviews for
38
115
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at The Heights, the breakfast was particularly good. Surrounded by amazing views and stunning scenery i think this hotel is very good value for money and my 19 year-old enjoyed the bar and steam room in particular.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colly11
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Spectacular views in the setting sun, overlooking the Causeway whilst sipping Cocktails on the patio, coupled with friendly, efficient service & smart, clean tidy rooms, with the additional bonus of an outdoor pool if the weather is right; made me extend my night's stay to two nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed here on a short break with my husband and young children in early September. The views from this hotel are amazing. The service was lovely and the staff were very helpful with the children. Breakfast was fantastic.

The attitude of the staff was very relaxed which really helped us to relax with the children. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a mini break with a young family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at the Heights over the Bank Holiday and were happy with the service from the friendly staff, however the rooms felt rather old fashioned and could do with updating. Breakfast was very good, and the fruit from the cold buffet and the undyed smoked haddock , cooked to order, a real treat. the views are indeed spectacular and we were lucky enough to have a sunny morning. We found the bistro prices rather steep for a family and so chose to eat elsewhere in the evening.

The day we checked out we were able to stay around and use the outdoor pool and had we had more time would certainly have taken advantage of the very reasonably priced treatments in the spa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west uk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

really doesn't meet expectations and very expensive for what you actually get. Rooms old and antiquated, Health Club not up to spec, outside pool small, very exposed. Also being a smoker they've got some very draconian thoughts on where you are allowed to smoke. Views good and staff are friendly, so I'd really suggest going there for afternoon tea as opposed to spending the night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isle of Portland hotels

Worcester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Myself and partner were thinking of staying at the hotel but after reading the reviews we booked a B&B instead (which was great). We did however visit the hotel to check it out & for afternoon tea (which according to their website is an amazing experience).

We arrived & used the loo's. My partner is blind and their system of additional keypad locks on the door of the disabled loo resulted in my partner being locked inside the loo and unable to get out. After managing to get him out we went into the resteraunt and the male receptionist just started at my disabled partner. When I said 'we are booked in for afternoon tea' he stared for a moment longer then shook his head - as if shaking himself out of a daze - and was then very polite - but the experience was very wierd - like we were aliens or something. We complained about the toilets but they didnt seem bothered.

The afternoon tea was the worst afternoon tea I have ever had - £16 for 2 stale scones, tea, and horrible cheap sandwiches - the mini fancies were the only nice thing. There were remnants of food over the floor - it needed a good hoover.

We couldnt wait to leave.

Yes the view is great - but you can get the same view - in fact a better view - by going to the free to use viewing area in front of the hotels viewing area. In fact go there, take a flask of tea, 2 scones, jam and some sandwiches and save yourself being ripped off to the tune of £16.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.