We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful young man” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heights Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Heights Hotel to your Saves list
The Heights Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very helpful young man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Recently visited The Heights coffee shop, had a cream tea and a ice-cream from the portable ice-cream seller outside which I understand from speaking to the very helpful young man was set up for the Olympics. He chatted to me about the local area and the forthcoming Olympic events. He even told my husband and I to visit Weymouth on a Monday night as they hold a fantastic firework display. The cream tea was lovely however the ice-cream was an unexpected treat but not as unexpected as the friendly nature of the young seller who must of been about 16 years old and took the time to chat and gave us lots of valuable information about the area, It was so nice to meet a teenager who has manners and obviously been brought up well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    125
    75
    29
    17
See reviews for
56
164
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
herefordshire uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here from November 2010 - March 2011 due to working away.
The hotel is comfortable and in the best location ever.
The rooms were clean and serviced every day without fail.
Costs are a little high, but this is because of the location. This is ok as a one off, but too much if you are eating there everynight.
This is a nice hotel with good service on offer.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and i decided to eat in the heights hotel 'bistro' on saturday night and had an enjoyable, all be it slightly strange evening.

When we arrived we were greeted (if you can call it greeted) by a young manager who's nametag cheerfully announced was called Gary. He was quite abrupt when askung if we had booked a table and when we told him that we had booked, he showed us to our table with all the good natured charm of a german war machine. once seated, we were left alone, with no bread, water or drinks order offered just myself, my husband and a menu and we were istantly concerned that we had made a bad choice if restaurant in which to enjoy our evening meal.
Eventually an elder lady came and offered us a bread roll, they looked freshly cooked and you get a choice from a basket which is very nice. She also brought us a jug of fresh iced water and we ordered a bottle of wine ( an expensive bottle by the way) and over came our friend gary again to take our order, he seemed to know very little about the menu and even had to check what the fresh meat on the carvery was! The good thing was that you could mix and match from the menu and the carvery so i ordered a starter to be made freshly in the kitchen and a carvery main course.
Our starters were brought out by a differant manager, a quick check of his badge tells me his name was ben. He was a completely different charactor, he was attentive, knowledgeable and extremly friendly, he chatted to us about portland and told us about a few points of interest like the hope cove and he really saved our evening.

The food itself was very tasty, although the fresh carvery had dried out slightly due to the heavy duty lights that were keeping it warm.

Overall, we would use the place again but only if we were confident that they had more staff like the second manager.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed just the one night DB&B. Having done that I think it would have been better value to have gone just B&B as for dinner you choose off the menu and see the prices you could have paid. We did not hit the £60 extra we paid by a long shot but there you go. The food was superb and plenty of it. The staff very attentive. The views from the restaurant are fantastic and worth going just for that! But no, the food was very good. Breakfast was equally tasty with a wide choice of cereals,yogurts, pastries, toast, full English, cold meats, juice and fruits. The room had a comfortable bed with TV and tea making facilities. The mirror in the bathroom was too far away and not good enough for those of us who use contact lenses. (It was over the toilet/sink with a two foot shelf, coupled with the lack of space from the loo there was no way you could get close. Do your lippy elsewhere!!)The shower was hot and powerful. We did not use the pool, sauna or gym but testing the water of the pool it was lovely and warm. Overall clean, tidy and for the money excellent value.

Room Tip: Go for the B&B option and eat in the restaurant as a paying guest. The difference will save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Me, my partner and my toddler were thirsty and eventually found the restaurant (poor sign posting you get the impression it's seen much better days) Brilliant view, we do agree. That's where the "Brilliant" ended. It was 11.00 and we were looking forward to a brunch and tried to order the soup.

It wasn't available as the cookers were turned off and thank God it was with tarragon soup as the choice! We opted for banana milkshake, tea and tea cake and toast.

Amazingly the service was staggered (tea cake and toast coming around 20 mins apart) the tea cake was cheap, the toast was 2 pieces of bargain basement bread which I wouldn't eat at home, squashed and served with plastic pots of jam. The banana milkshake was made with a sickly acidic syrup (not even Nesquick) water and squirty cream that had lost it's air. It actually made me heave

After pointing out that a banana milkshake costing £2.50 should at least have banana and milk in it and you can't serve syrup and water, I had a replacement hot chocolate which was the worst I have tasted apart from school days, watery and tasteless.

We were charged £10!!! It really annoys me, there are plenty of places really struggling to stay afloat and they produce brilliant food. To be charged £10 for that was disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Heights Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to our coffee shop we have fully investigated the issues that you have raised. All staff are now aware that soup is available from 9.00am and we have now altered the recipe for the milkshake as per your concerns. We would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just a few lines to counter some of the other remarks on here - as they nearly dissuaded me from booking!

I stayed one night only while visiting a local company on business. As everybody agrees, this hotel's elevated location and views towards Chesil Beach and England (!) are exceptional. Parking is convenient and the automatic doors to Reception are very handy if carrying baggage. Yes, the building has a 1970s ambience - even a faintly 'temporary' feel - but somehow the latter feels in character with the remoteness of the location. Other than battered door paintwork in the corridor to the downstairs bedroom, and an odd disinfectant/air freshener smell en route, no complaints about the building. In fact the restaurant and bar area is as nice as you will find, and as said the vista is breathtaking.

A so-called 'small double room' was not unduly small but featured only a shower in the bathroom. This facility worked extremely well though. Light levels a bit marginal for shaving. The bed mattress was exceptionally comfy and noise overnight was nil.

The staff, seemingly all female, were certainly unobstrusive but at Reception and in the Dining Room everybody was perfectly attentive, friendly and efficient. A three course evening meal and breakfast proved very good indeed... other than the coffee pot at the table being overdue a deep clean!

In sum, all boxes ticked for my purpose and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

View is fantastic from the restaurant. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast.
We would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.
Highly recomended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel

Address: Yeates Road, DT5 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the summit of the Isle of Portland with panoramic sea and coastal views from our Bar, Bistro and Coffee shop over Chesil Beach, the World Heritage coast and the 2012 Olympic sailing venue of Portland Harbour and Lyme Bay. On-site Gym, meeting rooms and business services. Special interest breaks, birdwatching, flora & fauna etc. Ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland
The Heights Hotel Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.