We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seventyseven

Seventyseven
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seventyseven
77a Fortuneswell, DT5 1LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. SeventySeven is a beautiful B&B. We stayed in room 1 which had gorgeous sea views. It was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was awesome. Mark and Jo are brilliant hosts, and have lots of local knowledge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

You need to know where to look for this B&B, 77 is the clue! Walk up the main Fortuneswell street and check the numbers on the doors. Once indoors it is a wonderful building. The owners are just so friendly, breakfasts are huge, we went down a little early on our first morning and started on the cereals, what we did not know was that so many more options would just keep coming out, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts etc... you have to pace yourself! The cooked breakfast that followed is excellent too, with really tasty sausages, bacon and black pudding. Many items are home-made, jams, breads. Mark takes your order so you can have as little or as much as you need. The rooms are great, all have free wi-fi and and the other little things that you need. The plumbing system is excellent with fast and plentiful hot water and hot radiators when you need them. One of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed here just for one night in the Easter holidays with my young daughter, whilst meeting up with friends. I can't rate it highly enough and will definitely return. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable, and the showers are very powerful. The breakfast was fantastic and they couldn't do enough to help and make my stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent three days here in late March. It was splendid. Jo and Mark made us very welcome, our room had fabulous views of the sea and the breakfasts set us up for the day. Seventyseven is an interesting building - a former grocery store - and typical of those built during Portland's Victorian heyday: Mark knows a good deal of its history. Don't be deceived by its somewhat austere exterior - inside it's very comfortable and cosy and this adds to what we found to be a relaxing stay.
We ate at the nearby Cove House Inn - outstanding location on Chesil Beach, great value pub food and plenty of atmosphere - and at the Crab House Cafe at Ferrvbridge which is a couple of miles towards Weymouth. This is pricier and has a somewhat chic air about it: it has an impressive reputation as a fish restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks out over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Mark and Jo went out of there way to make our stay pleasant at short notice. The rooms were very nice and breakfast was wonderful.

We will definitely return if we are lucky enough to visit Dorset again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

A wonderful place to stay! Great room and facilities and very friendly and welcoming, with good advice on local activities and restaurants. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The owners went out of their way to be helpful and were a genuine pleasure to have met. the rooms were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seventyseven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seventyseven

Address: 77a Fortuneswell, DT5 1LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mark and Jo extend a warm welcome to their home, a unique B&B tucked away in the heart of Fortuneswell on Portland. Bedrooms are en-suite with TV and Wi-Fi, our spacious lounge with large screen HDTV and plenty of books, DVDs and local information is comfortable and relaxing. We are ideally situated, just a few minutes walk from the National Sailing Academy, Osprey Quay and Chesil Beach; the perfect setting for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seventyseven Isle Of Portland, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seventyseven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seventyseven to your Saves list