We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lighthouse with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Bill Lighthouse

Portland Bill Lighthouse
Portland Bill, DT5 2JT, England
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses
Attraction Details
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lighthouse with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Decided to pop down to Weymouth for the day as the weekend weather was hot & our eldest was doing a project on Lighthouses. Having researched the place before hand with Trinity House, It was decided that Sunday would be the better day to visit.

The lighthouse stands right at the southerly tip of Portland, and is well signposted. The visitors center is informative and you can pay to climb up to the lamp room and look out over the channel.

The guides are very helpful and even helped locate additional literature for our daughter to help with her project.

Plan on returning when the weather is not so good to see the lighthouse in operation :)


There are warnings that substantial footwear (no flip flops) must be worn, and that children under 5 are not permitted

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    60
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nowt to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Thought we take a bus trip to Portland bill lighthouse. The bus dropped us off at pub and said up a road. Nearly hours walk later we got there knackered, gasping 4 a drink & wee. There was nothing there to do but the lighthouse or the lobster pot restaurant (which was overpriced for a pot of tea I think) didn't go up lighthouse either. Was a lovely view shame was hazy but can't do anything about weather.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great well worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was not the best days for a view, but then I think you go into a lighthouse to see it rather than a view out to see? The staff here were friendly and helpful, all the way up at different levels was information about what the equipment was and was used for.

By the time we got to the top, the fog horn had started sounding, luckily it was not too loud....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visit whilst holidaying in Dorset”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went down to visit Portland and to see the famous lighthouse whilst staying in Osmington. The island is gloomy and to be honest, depressing. The lighthouse looks ok, was shut when we went and the whole area just feels eerie. Best thing was a scone at the lobster pot cafe next to the lighthouse . This was the best I have ever tasted. Other than that, I couldn't wait to leave! There are so much nicer areas to visit around here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pretty place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I really wanted to visit so dragged the family who the thought I was slightly barmy wanting to spend a precious day of our holiday visiting somewhere because I liked the kids tv programme from the 80s. Anyway, we all had a lovely time. Shame the visitor centre didn't open til 11 as we are early birds, but it gave us the opportunity to let the kids rock climb and us grown ups to enjoy the views. The visitor centre is small, and due to close soon. I hope they keep, something there to relay the history of the place though as the kids enjoyed it. I am a woos and dont do heights but sat and had a cream tea in the cafe and watched the kids wave from the top! All in all glad we went.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Bill Lighthouse also viewed

Portland, Isle of Portland
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 
Portland, Isle of Portland
Portland, Isle of Portland
 

Been to Portland Bill Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Bill Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Portland Bill Lighthouse to your Saves list