We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POSH DINING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Stock, Gillingham SP8 5NR, England
01747 823626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Gillingham
Price range: $0 - $156
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“POSH DINING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lovely old house in a country setting that the current owners restored from derelict. They have done a wonderful job. Husband is chef and wife front of house-they and all their staff are very correct and do things befitting a top restaurant in the City. Very nice food all freshly cooked with an slight Austrian flavour appearing here and there.
Well worth a try and look out for the puddings! YUM.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

What a lovely weekend. Our party of 12 chose this Hotel for our family Christmas meal. It was an amazing place. The service from all the staff was incredible. Especially Victoria who is a credit to the team. Nita the owner made our weekend, she is the perfect hostess, and what a laugh we had.
The food is excellent. The hotel is beautiful and very homely it's the perfect place to relax and unwind. The bedrooms in the hotel are something special. Each one having a different theme. The only criticism I would have is there were no tea making facilities in the rooms. Although there was room service if needed. I think it would have been a nice touch and would have made a difference to have this available in the beautiful rooms. My preference would be to stay in the rooms in the hotel rather than in the coach house. The rooms are still lovely but not quite the standard of the hotel bedrooms. Although having said that they are the cheaper option! Overall it's a very relaxing friendly place to stay with excellent staff. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plush, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SHEER PERFECTION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stock Hill offers an exquisite dining experience in a friendly, country house environment. A truly special place, it's more like dining with friends; the food is always freshly prepared and mouthwateringly delicious. Be sure to try any Austrian dishes on the menu as you can be sure they will be authentic to the last detail. We have been using the restaurant for the past 20 years and the top quailty service never wavers. If you enjoy good food and fine wines served in delightful surroundings, there really is no better place to spend a couple of hours (or longer) than Stock Hill House.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaftesbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch 9/9/2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was a warm, personal welcome - how lovely to be remembered from previous visits. The food was excellent, the service first class, and while the house in its beautiful grounds was a suitably splendid setting for a special occasion, it was relaxing and friendly as well. The occasion was a birthday (92 years) and a birthday card was given by our hosts and much appreciated.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hidden Oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is in Gillingham DORSET not Kent as shown on map! Excellent venue, hidden away just on the outskirts of Gillingham. Have had many an excellent meal here both lunch and on New Years Eve when there was a real party spirit. Very good food and friendly service.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Gillingham, Dorset
 

Been to Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stock Hill Country House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.