We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bankes Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bankes Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Bankes Arms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a pub with excellent accommodation. We were looking for a room to stay and were lucky to obtain the last one that night. The bedroom was spotless, the facilities were very good, the food was as you would expect with good staff and lots of smiles. Breakfast set us up well, my only criticism was that the coffee with breakfast was nasty! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    25
    18
    17
See reviews for
26
92
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and found it very pleasant and helpful
We had an evening meal that was excellent value for money
Ok it's not 5 star but its not 5 star price
Breakfast was excellent if a little slow but not helped by a table of 9 who came in for breakfast of the street just before we sat down. The waitress although a little flustered managed well

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, Surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I booked one night at Bankes Arms on our way home to Surrey from a trip to Bath. We only booked on the day of arrival. We have never stayed above a pub before so weren't sure quite what to expect. The lady who booked us in and showed us to our room was very helpful and efficient. The room itself (room 4) was at the front of the property overlooking the square. It had double-glazing which as another reviewer has said did not detract from the lovely leaded windows. The room was very big, bright and airy and absolutely perfect for people watching whilst we drank our complimentary tea. Unfortunately we were just too late for lunch but were recommended to try the National Trust tea room across the square which was just perfect.

We stayed on a Thursday night and were not troubled by any noise but it is possible that on a Friday/Saturday night noise may travel up from the pub but I guess if you book to stay above a pub you would accept this. There was a degree of traffic noise as we were right on the corner and a lot of lorries come past but the double-glazing does deaden this to some degree.

The bathroom was adequate with a nice touch of having complimentary toiletries which I did not expect from a pub/inn.

We ate at the Greyhound over the road, only because we fancied what was on the menu more but then went back to Bankes for a drink before turning in.

My husband said he did not sleep well mainly because the curtains, although very pretty were unlined and he could see the traffic lights and headlights shining through and I must admit it did wake us up early as it was a very sunny morning, so if there is one criticism it would be that perhaps if possible blackout blinds or linings could be attached to the curtains.

The full english breakfast the next morning was plentiful and very tasty and lots of nice jams and preserves were available as well as a good selection of cereals and toast.

The car parking was a real bonus as it was nice and large and was next to the train station where we caught the old steam train into Swanage.

I would definitely recommend this pub/inn to a friend.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back of the property may not get the traffic noise though the double glazing d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This really pretty hotel / ancient inn is right underneath historic Corfe Castle, so you have guaranteed views & atmosphere. It has a lovely garden with private parking tucked away in a convenient place.

I stayed with my daughter in a really pretty, immaculately clean room overlooking the man street of Corfe. We stayed on a Saturday night, so obviously, this being a pub/hotel, noise might have been a consideration. It wasn't. First, the double glazing was brilliant, though unobtrusive, not spoiling the look of the Tudor windows: second, the clientele & the whole environment was quiet, gentle, family-orientated.

The restaurant had great choices for family dining: sophisticated steaks, duck, fish dishes for older ones, fish & chips & brownies for younger ones. Service was really fast & the food was good, and there was also a short but good wine list.

Breakfast - cooked or continental were included in the room price - was great: I had the cooked breakfast and had to ask them to hold back on quantity.

The room itself - we had a twin - was pretty & clean, with a shower & toiletries, but we had to share a toilet on the corridor: this wasn't a problem and is reflected in the price.

The staff we met were delightful & helpful. I would happily recommend this as excellent value in a beautiful building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a week in Corfe Castle, we visited the Bankes Arms on a couple of occasions.

As others have said the bar manager can come across as stern when you first arrive. What's more off putting are the prices which are over the top for the local area. £4.75 for a 175ml glass of average wine is simply far too high for rural Purbeck, and the beer appears to be expensive too. The Isle of Purbeck isn't London!

This weighs against the Bankes Arms, especially when other (better) pubs within short walking distance offer a warmer welcome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just spent a week in Corfe Castle and ended up eating at the Bankes 3 times. The place allows dogs (a must for us) and had a good choice of food as well as a couple of ales on tap. All of the food we had was well presented and tasty. Sam was pleasant and welcoming. The place has only recently reopened and seems to be building up its custom. It has much more atmosphere than other nearby places to eat. We would definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited on Friday evening for a pub dinner. Very nice ambiance to this quaint little pub, fitting in very nicely to the lovely village of Corfe Castle. Didn't have to wait long for a table in the bar to have some food. Lady behind the bar was not very customer orientated at all and seemed a hassle for her to even pour some pints; no smile or greeting, quite off putting to be honest, hence why I have given a 4 star instead of 5. This did not spoil our visit though. The food was excellent, highly recommend the chicken and ham pie! It usually comes with mashed potato but due to cirmcumstances I was offered chips. Very good pie; very large chunks of chicken and ham through the pie. The two lads doing to table service were very good. Excellent customer service from them! A good pint in here too!

Room Tip: Did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bankes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bankes Arms Hotel

Address: East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bankes Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Bankes Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankes Arms Hotel
Bankes Arms Corfe Castle
The Bankes Arms Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bankes Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.