We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bankes Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bankes Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Bankes Arms Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited on Friday evening for a pub dinner. Very nice ambiance to this quaint little pub, fitting in very nicely to the lovely village of Corfe Castle. Didn't have to wait long for a table in the bar to have some food. Lady behind the bar was not very customer orientated at all and seemed a hassle for her to even pour some pints; no smile or greeting, quite off putting to be honest, hence why I have given a 4 star instead of 5. This did not spoil our visit though. The food was excellent, highly recommend the chicken and ham pie! It usually comes with mashed potato but due to cirmcumstances I was offered chips. Very good pie; very large chunks of chicken and ham through the pie. The two lads doing to table service were very good. Excellent customer service from them! A good pint in here too!

Room Tip: Did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    25
    18
    17
See reviews for
26
92
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The lady who seemed to be the mgr was quite rude to her staff and started ranting about the pub over the rd when I was enquiring about room. Rm 3 has a very noisy plug when others are showering and terrible shower head. No lead in the tv, we told the mgr and were promised a new one which never appeared. No toilet roll in the shared toilet for many hrs on a bank hol monday when there were lots of vikings here on the booze! Only one girl serving all the breakfasts so didn't get bowls for cereal. Not a terrible b&b but wouldn't return in a hurry. Lovely town though and quite surreal being here for may day bank hol with lots of pagans walking around!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely little old nooky pub/hotel, in keeping with the rest of the village.
Every time my family visits Dorset we have ended up in the Bankes Arms for a meal before heading home - it is now somewhat of a tradition!
The landlady has run the place for many years, but can come across a little stern.
It is a good menu and there are always daily specials.
You can sit inside if the whether is not so good, or there is garden seating outside with splendid views of Corfe Castle.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we went for a weekend away here, it was easy to find and the location was great, corfe castle was a stone throw away. the hotel is in a lovely villiage and its very quiet. the hotel its self is very quaint and clean. we had a shared bathroom which again was clean, and we didnt really share it with anyone else while we were there. the breakfast had a lot of choice and was very tasty. staff were also friendly and helpful. the evening meal was very tasty too and of reasonal price

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IS CLOSED.
Having driven 150 miles we discovered this hotel had closed approx 3 weeks ago! We booked on the Internet and have received no notification of a problem. The people of the village are up in arms about it.
Thank goodness for the lovely lady at Olivers down the road who had a spare room for us.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a lunch in the bar of this hotel last week. The lady behind bar was very stern looking and not welcoming. This should have been a clue to turn and leave. We ordered 4 ploughmans which were priced at £16 for 2 people. Bread was stale presliced, we had 3 vey thin small pieces of cheese and walnut pattie that was hard and very cold. There was some salad, onion and a little chutney on the plate. For £8 each it was a disgrace-never had sliced bread with a ploughnmans before. will not eat there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October. On arrival the room we were allocated was cold, no heating on and a suspicious electric heater in the corner. We were told the heating came on at 4pm. The radiator was covered by the wardrobe! A short while later whilst we were making up our minds we were shown to another room, number 1. The room was warm and had secondary glazing. The heating was clearly on. After relaxing for a while the room went cold. The rad was luke warm at the top and cold at the bottom. Water in the basin was warm the shower, no hot water at all. We complained. You need to run the shower a long time and the heating is old we were told!
No restaurant a such, three rooms set aside, but only two at the front available. Both looked like a cafe environment, greyish tables and chairs. Only two leather bucket style chairs in front of a pathetic gas log fire.
Poor selection on the menu we were not told about the specials board. Food nothing special at all but breakfast was quite good.
Room cold, nowhere to relax during or after a meal. We went out on Saturday night. The management need to decide on what they want. A hotel, in an olde world environment or a cafe with a bar. Needs great investment if hotel is the answer. When we left the card machine would not hook up! Don't stay here if you want a warm, comfortable hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bankes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bankes Arms Hotel

Address: East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Corfe Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bankes Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Bankes Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankes Arms Hotel
Bankes Arms Corfe Castle
The Bankes Arms Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bankes Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.