We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The model village is great, the cafe is better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corfe Castle Model Village

Corfe Castle Model Village
The Square | Corfe Castle, Corfe Castle, England
+44 1929 481234
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The model village is great, the cafe is better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to C or fe Castle with my wife and 2 year old. It was damp, but the model village was still impressive. The fairy trail and bit of woodland are lovely and my daughter had a great time. It's a bit overpriced for the size, but still worth visiting if you are there. Good weather would make it brilliant. The cafe was a revelation, made by the wonderful girl who served us, a natural ability to be helpful, relaxed, and hospitable, thank you. All service should be like that. Great food too, delicious butternut squash soup, crab sandwiches, and unusual but great cottage pie. Little one loved her ice cream too!
Go for the cafe, enjoy the village.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilyBournemouth, Owner at Corfe Castle Model Village, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear PITN,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed the gardens, and you are quite right, it is much better in sunny weather.
I am sorry you feel it may be a bit expensive, unfortunately running costs are increasing all the time, especially the dreaded vat, we have not put any prices up this year, including in the tea room, and will not put the price up for the Model Village next year either, it just means we have to be very clever when it comes to spending money on improvements.

We are extremely glad that you received good service in the tea room, we have a very good team here, and we are immensely proud of them all. We know which member of staff you have mentioned, and she has seen your comments, and a pat on the back!

As for the Cottage Pie, well, we had a big debate over our morning coffee meeting, I know what you mean by unusual (presentation?), chef says it is the Courtyard Rustic Cottage Pie!
Many thanks once again
Emily Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    38
    17
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visit the model every time we go to a Corfe Castle and love it. Usually sit in the garden and have an icecream or a coffee and cake in the cafe! We've been here quite a few times and never get fed up with it. There is a lovely section for children with hidden fairies etc in the trees and bushes. Even giant games to play on the grass. Well worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited Corfe for the first time on 22nd Sept and went into the model village...found it to be very sweet and very well maintained...the lady in the shop was very pleasant and helpful too...apart from the obviously model of the village there were also some games on the grass area (which if you still have a bit of a kid in you) were fun to have a go at too...we found the gardens as a whole to be very well maintained and will probably be back next year to sample the tea rooms and have another wander round on a lovely summers day

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely model village and a great cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed looking around the model village and also had a lovely lunch in the cafe. The food was lovely and the service was good. Definitely recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sweet afternoon out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to the model village with our 1 & 3 year old boys. It was a grey day so the lady at the entrance said we could come and go as we please for the day. If it rained come back a bit later. There was also a childrens quiz to do on the way around but as our boys were small the lady just gave us the end prize. Some flags for sand castles. So sweet and kind ;-) There was croqet to play, giant Jenga and connect 4. The model village isnt massive but really sweet with lots of things to point out to our little ones. Theres a fairy garden which was sweet. Finding all the faries hidden in the trees and flowers. We also had lunch in the cafe which was delicious. Goats cheese , walnut and pickle baguette yum!
A little magical place with lovely staff, great food and lots of magic!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corfe Castle Model Village also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Corfe Castle Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corfe Castle Model Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.