We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient service pleasant staff good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Way House pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Half Way House pub
Norden, Nr. Corfe Castle | Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5DU, England
1929 480402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: On the route between Corfe Castle and Wareham
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Efficient service pleasant staff good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

There is a big outside seating area but we went into the little room at the entrance. It is very clean and the tables are not cramped. . Décor is traditional .You order at the bar and the food arrives a short while later. Staff were efficient . Portions were good and we can recommend both the steak pie and the sausage and mash. There are plenty of other choices. The waitress was amazed I had no space for desert. ...but the portions were good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“had two meals one on friday and another saturday night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

fridays meal was good,i had fish and chips my wife had lasagne. on saturday i had smoked haddock fish cakes that were over cooked to the point of burnt my wife had roast vegetable lasagne that seemed okay but what peeved me the most was they charged £5-35 for a pint of peroni shandy outrageous won't be back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“a nice cuppa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we called in here after the castle and enjoyed a cuppa , light snacks and drinks are available ,as are some useful items ,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stopped for a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Service was a bit slow. Staff didn't seem allocated to tables. It was a bit random. I think we had 4 different members of staff serve us. but food was excellent. Nice old clean homely pub atmosphere. Best Lasagne I have ever eaten.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“evening meal with friends”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

under new management - booked table not ready - after 30 minutes put on different table - 45 mins after arriving given menu - another 20 mins nobody came to take order husband when to bar at 8.35 over an hour after arriving to be told chef was packing up - very stressed waitress came over and took order. further 10 mins passed came back told had run out of yet another starter - very poor menu choice not what you would expect from this pub. Main courses very bland and very poorly presented. There are many good country pubs in Dorset this is not now one of them! Such a shame. Landlady took our money and was aware of problems as we had been asked but no an apology given. sorry would have gone a long way to entice us to give it another try. Other people also were not happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Way House pub also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Half Way House pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Way House pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.