We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Sandy Hill Lane, Corfe Castle, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Corfe Castle B&B and Inns
Camberley
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just superb.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had the chance of a quick weekend away and fancied luxurious accommodation with some sea air and scenic walks thrown in. Challow Farmhouse didn't disappoint, it was, in a nutshell, simply stunning.

We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. The setting was beautiful, the rooms were superb, and every effort was made to make us happy and comfortable.

Everything that has been said previously is true, Challow Farmhouse is simply first class in every way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in recommending it to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect although I believe they are all upstairs, so anyone with mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at Challow Farm in Oct 2011. It's a beautiful property and we really enjoyed our stay here! When we arrived, Kate met us with tea and delicious home made cake, she was very friendly and suggested places to see or go. The room was spotless, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, with the usual full english but also other options like smoked haddock. The location was ideal for Corfe Castle village and the steam railway, and also an easy drive to other parts of the coast. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for one night [Kate had a gap in between bookings] and were delighted to find that the reviews we'd read were all true - this is a lovely place to stay - comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean, quiet, and furnished and decorated to a very high standard. The breakfast was excellent - so much choice - and Kate was very welcoming. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone. We plan to stay again - for more than one night next time - and go on the steam train to Swanage, which stops at nearby Corfe Castle.

Room Tip: I should expect that all the rooms are good. This is a picturesque, quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed at Challow for 3 nights in October 2011 with my elderley Mother.
The breakfast is wonderful, home made museli and a wonderful fruit salad, everything locally sourced, it all tasted wonderful!!
Kate could not do enough to make our stay special and looked after us both wonderfully.
It was just the sort of break we both needed, particulary my Mother who said she didnt want to go home!!
The bedrooms were fabulous, comfortable beds, top quality linen and top end toiletries.
Cannot fault it at all and have already recommended it to my friends.
I certainly would love to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in September 2011 and totally fell in love with Challow. A beautiful large house with an amazing garden and the picturesque village of Corfe within easy walking distance. Immaculate and large farmhouse style rooms kitted out to the very highest standard with lots of homely touches. We were greeted with Kate's amazing home made Dorset apple cake and a huge pot of tea, beds were turned down at night and the breakfast is nothing short of spectacular. Best quality local meat, home made muesili, breads, eggs from the farm and the best pancakes i've tasted since my mum's. Yummy!

Kate and Mark are charming hosts. Despite only staying for 2 nights we came away feeling like old friends. It's not often we go back to the same place twice but we'll DEFINITELY make an exception for Challow. Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Everything you could ask for in a bed and breakfast. Cream tea on arrival. Attractive and immaculate rooms with refreshments shortbread and fresh milk. Luxury bedding and towels. Slippers and gowns. Top end toiletries. Wide choice of filling breakfast mains, with fruit, home made muesli and Dorset cereals. Peaceful and rural, but less than five minutes walk from busy Corfe Castle and its pubs and shops. Maps and guides. Umbrellas. Walks from the front gate. Chocolates on the pillow. And a vivacious and genuinely helpful hostess who really wants you to have a good time.
Kate may be new at this game, but she certainly knows what she is doing.

Room Tip: East room over barn is large with huge bed, bath and shower and fine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at Challow Farm in September 2011 and were delighted with the standard of accommodation and level of service. We were welcomed with afternoon tea in the beautiful garden and made to feel at home very quickly. There are plenty of homely touches including homemade shortbread. As well as having our beds turned down every night there was also a chocolate on the pillow which was a great surprise.
The DVD collection was also a real treat leading to a couple of lazy afternoons enjoying a good movie.

The breakfasts are also a real treat. Our host Kate made every dish very well and was more than happy to give us tips on places to see and where to eat. It is in a great location, walking distance to the charming town of Corfe Castle and easy access to the steam train to Swanage.

We thoroughly recommend a stay at Challow Farm, you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: Request to stay in the barn but all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Sandy Hill Lane, Corfe Castle, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Corfe Castle
Also Known As:
Challow Farm House Bed And Breakfast Corfe Castle, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Challow Farm House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list