We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a lovely garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
West St, Corfe Castle, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good value and a lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Went here for lunch and well worth the visit in a secluded garden. Slightly shaggy looking chap behind the bar looked to be tolerating the 'grockles' but I must say the food was a very good price - and one steak was ten pounds cheaper than the neighbouring Greyhound. I will certainly return.
Service was via teenagers dressed in white shirt and black trousers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    9
    9
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good good, slightly run down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Passing through corfe castle, we stopped here for lunch. The food was delicious and huge portions.
The only down side was that there are no kids allowed in the bar and the garden seating is a little run down.
But it's good honest pub grub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Complacent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have been going to the fox for years on the little train from Swanage. This year we were disappointed as the food was nothing like it used to be. We love Graham and the Pub but the quality of the food and the staff have gone down hill. The staff were disinterested and inattentive and need a good kick up the backside. Two out of our party of ten had the duck and it was in edible. There was a lot left on the other plates too. Saying this when we were asked if all was ok we told the truth and he did refund the duck. On the positive side the starters were nice. The menu needs a good overhaul and the quality of staff and food upgrading. Come on Graham get the old sparkle back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pucker Pub, Proper People !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I cannot believe the bad reviews this pub has had?

This is one of the best public houses we`ve ever been to and will always go back. The landlord and landlady were warm and welcoming and only to willing to answer questions of the area and engaged in chat with us about the resident ghost.
The food was fantastic and to die for, just the ticket after a day on the beach.
The garden is absolutely charming.
Cannot fault anything about the place at all, are these oafs leaving reviews about the right place?
Splendid and will be back soon !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were about to sit in the lovely beer garden when a terrific downpour persuaded us otherwise. The garden is hidden away and has great views of the castle. We sat inside and had a couple of pint. Great atmosphere, hugely enjoyable and set us up for a visit to the castle.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.