We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scott Arms

The Scott Arms
West Street, Kingston, Corfe Castle BH20 5LH, England
01929 480270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Cuisines: Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A great pub in an amazing location. Food and drink delicious with a Caribbean BBQ all summer.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We came for lunch after visiting the area with family -we all had a lovely meal, 2 roasts, fish and chips and a pork dish. The food is reasonable and the portions generous- the pub is very nice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    117
    45
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Walkers lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Following a fab walk down to the caves/Winspit, we took lunch at this place. We had booked as it was part of my birthday celebrations. We were a large party (6 adults/6 children) but had a nice long table and managed to keep kids down one end and adults at the other - perfect! As it was a Sunday lunchtime it was very busy and therefore we did have about an hour to wait after we ordered but to be expected on such a busy day I guess. Apart from one of our party not being too happy with the salmon from the specials board, everyone else (kids included) enjoyed their meals. Generally ok and a nice setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfriston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Saturday Supper in September”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Walking group visited for second time during stay in Dorset September 2013. The Scott Arms were busy but managed to locate a table for six of us ~ booked in person during the afternoon for our then supper visit after a change in plans.
Upon returning in evening we were warmly welcomed and shown to our table after getting drinks. Great selection of ales and wines to choose from.
Although very busy the service was attentive, although stressed at times with the numbers in our part of the several dining areas; hence we had a couple of longer waits than necessary between courses (only minor delays, and the reasons were appreciated).
The menu was varied, and we were literally spoilt for choice. When the meals arrived they lived up to and exceeded expectations.
The owner/manager on that evening managed a rather jocular member of our walking party with great skill and humour.

All things considered, a great improvement over our second ever visit to this venue in 2009; when on the day of our visit a stand-in manager seemed to be fire-fighting chaos at times, even though we had pre-ordered meals for a large party of 24 for lunch, as requested.

We will be back (probably early in 2014 ...)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great views and food, so yes it will be busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited on a sunny Friday evening in August. Having arrived later than advised my wife and I took the opportunity to guide our 9 and 10 year olds in the art of securing a table in a busy pub without swaying too far from our socially accepted British rules of politeness. That done we all proceeded to enjoy some very good pub food, well kept ale and good quality, good value red wine. This is a great pub with amazing views of Corfe Castle which you can enjoy from the large garden. However it's numerous qualities means it inevitably gets busy, I don't know why people complain about that. Plan your visit well and you will thoroughly enjoy it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth,England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A family meal. Fantastic, well presented, quality food. Fantastic views and beautiful decor. The staff were so helpful with my Mother who was In a wheel chair. I will definitely return, sooner than later. Well done to The Scott's Arms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scott Arms also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Scott Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scott Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.