We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab view but food and service a bit overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Scott Arms

The Scott Arms
West Street, Kingston, Corfe Castle BH20 5LH, England
01929 480270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Corfe Castle
Cuisines: Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A great pub in an amazing location. Food and drink delicious with a Caribbean BBQ all summer.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fab view but food and service a bit overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were staying in Swanage and went to the Scott Arms for a meal on a recommendation. There were 8 of us and it was a busy Saturday night but they managed to "squeeze us in" for an early table.

When we arrived, having only booked about an hour before we got there, the table was laid for 6 instead of 8 and on asking a waitress put two more sets of cutlery on the table, but no extra chairs! I think she thought 5 of us could squeeze onto the bench seat on one side of the table.

My husband went to the bar to order drinks for everyone - only one person serving and she was taking a large order, then some other people tried to push in until he spoke up and told her he was actually next! At that point she asked for help behind the bar.

4 of us ordered steak - which all went back as it was barely lukewarm. One of our party had calves liver and this came on a very sloppy bed of mash - not presented very well in my opinion. A few of us had puds - can't recall what but mine was something chocolatey and was ok. Only one of our party said they really enjoyed their food.

The views from the garden are amazing but I think this pub needs to decide whether it's a pub with food, or has aspirations to be a gastro pub type of establishment. It's certainly not the latter. Maybe a smaller menu would enable them to do food really well, instead of offering several badly prepared dishes. Pretty expensive for the standard of food and service as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    118
    45
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Agree with previous reviews about superb views but that's about as far as it goes. Despite making a table booking, well in advance and arriving promptly, it seems there is a 'standard' Scott Arms half-hour-plus wait for food, from time of ordering. When the food arrived, some 35 minutes later, although well cooked, it was only warm - had service taken place after 30 minutes, the food may even have been hot. 'Smoked Chilli Nuts', to while away the time and 'Mixed Vegetables' (diced carrots, diced swede??? with peas - an uninspiring cop out!) and both overcharged at £2.50 each.

Thankfully, we opted to patronise The Black Swan at Swanage for our final evening. What a contrast - a lovely welcome, great atmosphere, an excellent choice of real ale and food to make any chef proud.

We know where we shall be eating next year - that's if we can get in!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good beer great view but not sure on food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Such an amazing garden with the view ! but they really need to focus on the food and getting it right this place could be on a differnt level not tried the Jerk Chicken Shak looks different but would like to try next time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wish we had room for fish and chips too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Called in for lunch,delighted to see that this pub is loved again,very pleasantly decorated,service good,sat in garden,beautiful day and sat watching a pair of red kites doing aerobics over corfe castles spectacular ruins.it is such a breathtaking view that you could forgive substandard food,and luckily,we didn't have to! Had the charcuterie and west country cheese boards ,a nice interesting change to ploughmans.loved the meats,roasted baby onions in balsamic vinegar,lovely breads,gorgeous blue vinney ,local brie type cheese that i absolutely couldn't get enough of and great cheddar .not so keen on olives,not even top notch ones ,but i knew that anyway so no fault of the pub.only reason not full marks my husbands beer was quite sour,but to be fair there was a problem with the pump that day ,won't stop us returning and perhaps staying quite soon!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very busy and just ok, possibly bit too popular.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Came here on a Saturday night, the place was rammed and fully booked. Luckily we had booked though getting to our table was confusing and we were left sat there with no menu and no drinks for about 10 minutes. Eventually we ordered and the service when we had it was pleasant and friendly. It was a 30 minute wait for food and to be honest it wasn't really worth the wait, decidedly average. I wouldn't go back here but if you're staying nearby then it's not a bad place. Its probably become too popuar and standards have slipped unfortunately. Great views of Corfe castle fom the beer garden if the weather is nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scott Arms also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Scott Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scott Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.