We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell Barn Studio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hell Barn Cottages

Hell Barn Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chideock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hell Barn Cottages
Save
You added Hell Barn Cottages to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Hell Farmhouse, Hell Lane, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hell Barn Studio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The studio is super; well equipped and very clean. It opens on to a beautiful well cared for garden and so coming back in the early evening and sitting having a drink in the sunshine was a delight each day. Diana and Shige are lovely hosts, very welcoming, and Shige's Japanese meal was yummy. The area is full of footpaths so I have to go back one day to try some more; it was easy to plan a variety of different walks straight from the barn. Try going up the Golden Cap one way and down another, the views are fabulous. Lots of places to visit as well as walking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I decided to spend a week at Hell Barn Cottages with my wife and son after researching many holiday properties in Dorset and reading several reviews online. Hell Barn was just what we expected and more. It is located in a quiet area of Chideock and surrounded by beautiful and untamed green fields and hills as far as the eye can see, like a Dorset countryside painting. It offers easy access to several popular coastal places including Chesil beach and Lyme Regis, which is great for fossil hunting both for children and adults alike.

The quality of accommodation is one of the best I have ever come across as it was nicely decorated and included many comforts including towels and bed linen (provided free of charge), a stairgate, on demand heating, power shower, large flat screen TV with loads of channels (for a rainy day), a cupboard full of jigsaws and board games, free WiFi and a washing machine/tumble dryer all in our own cottage. The hosts are friendly and very hospitable and had even left milk, bread, fresh butter, tea and biscuits waiting for us as a welcome present. The main garden outside the cottages is beautifully looked after and a pleasure to spend time in.

For the little ones there is a little outdoor playground and an indoor games room which includes table tennis, table football, pool table, a play house and little bikes for toddlers. My son spent a fair amount of time playing in there every day, especially when the weather was wet. The place therefore immediately felt like a home away from home as we didn't have to worry about anything except for having lots of fun on our holiday. In addition, based on my research, Hell Barn is the most competitively priced high quality accommodation in Dorset.

For those with adventurous taste buds the hosts offer deliciously home cooked Japanese food, which is an experience I would highly recommend to everyone visiting Hell Barn.

To conclude, we thoroughly enjoyed our summer break at Hell Barn and look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Foxglove Cottage was spacious, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful and at the same time non-intrusive. The shared gardens were beautiful as was the whole estate. It was within easy access of the coast and countryside so a great location. We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage as a delightful place to stay and we would love to return to it when we visit Dorset again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we stayed 2 nights on a short break and wished we had much longer.
great location, very peacefull, very comfortable. great for striking out to the sea at charmouth, lyme regis etc.. i would highly recomend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and i stayed at Hell Barn for a two week holiday. Located just off the A35, it was an ideal place to explore the dorset countryside with our dog, Ruby. The Barn was perfect for us, lovely and quiet yet not too far from Chideock or Sea Town where there is a good beach and pub to refresh after the walk. We couldn't have found a better place. There was plenty of space, great garden for the dog to roam in. Shige and Diana were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We ate some of Shige's Japanese food on one of the evenings and this is a must, it was delicious. The local pubs also do good food and would say that the George Inn is well worth a visit.
All in all a great place to stay and looking forward to going back some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you want a truly special stay, away from the hustle and bustle of urban life, then Hell Barn Cottages is the perfect place. The accommodation is just beautiful, sympathetic to the rolling Dorset hills and beautifully furnished. Hosts Diana and Shige really pull out all the stops to make your stay comfortable, and are really easy to communicate with prior to your visit, which made us feel very reassured. The gardens are so tranquil and beautifully kept, it was a real treat to have breakfast outside with just the sounds of nature around. We came away refreshed and relaxed, having had a fantastic stay. Can't recommend this place highly enough, and will come back many times again, I am sure.

Room Tip: Stayed in the studio apartment, perfect for couples who want a quiet cosy break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location of Hell Barn Cottages is idyllic. They’re at the end of a quiet country lane in the heart of the beautiful countryside in this part of Dorset. The thatched farmhouse is delightful and the cottages have been restored to a high standard. The large visitors’ garden is wonderful.
The cottages are well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a warm welcome from Shige and Diana and, on one evening, had an authentic Japanese meal cooked by Shige and delivered to our cottage. The food was delightful and we thoroughly recommend trying it.
Hell Barn Cottages provide perfect peace and tranquillity in a lovely location and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hell Barn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hell Barn Cottages

Address: Hell Farmhouse, Hell Lane, Chideock, Bridport DT6 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Chideock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chideock
Hotel Class:3 star — Hell Barn Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hell Barn Cottages Chideock, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hell Barn Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.