We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont come here for Christmas meal if you want some Christmas Cheer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castleman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chettle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castleman
Save
You added Castleman to your Saves list
Chettle DT11 8DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bournemouth
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dont come here for Christmas meal if you want some Christmas Cheer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came here for a Christmas do, however even a week before Christmas there was not even a single decoration up, now I'm known as ba humbug, but even I put up some xmas dec's. The food was very tasty but not very hot, service was good, but the room lacked any atmosphere. We retired to the lounge where tea and coffee were served, if you managed to avoid tripping up on the old loose carpet you then have to try and sit on what can only be describled as a mis-mash of low old uncomfortable settees. The whole place has sense of faded glory.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food at The Castleman is absolutely delicious. There is variety on the menu yet everything is as good as the other. We visited on a Saturday evening and the place was fairly full, creating a friendly atmosphere despite being in a quaint, quiet village in Dorset. This is the place to go for a really special evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Abbas, Dorset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently attended a birthday celebration here for about 24 people. There was a warm welcome from the staff and the dining room looked amazing. The food was exemplary and the sevice could not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble and if anything on the menu needed to be changed slightly due to personal prefference it was not a problem. After an excellent meal coffee was served in a very comfortable lounge. My first visit to the hotel but it will not be my last. A 5* experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked the Castleman as a base for getting to Salisbury, Blandford Forum and Wimborne for a couple of days. The description on the Castleman website is exactly as it is. Do not expect bland, every one the same chain hotel or expensive, modern furniture in the rooms. Our room was large, overlooking the garden and fields towards Chettle church. There is ample parking and absolute peace and quiet. A few minutes drive from the main Salisbury to Blandford road. Salisbury is about 20 minutes drive away and Wimborne Minster about 15. The public rooms are large, comfortable with a faded charm with many period features. Staff are very welcoming and friendly, attentive but not intrusive.
The dining room is a late extension which blends in extremely well with the rest of the older parts of the building. Dinner is exceptional and changes to the menu are made daily. Modern needs are catered for with free wi-fi and computer to catch up on e-mails.
Some of the furniture is dated and this adds to the charm although it may not appeal to some guests who favour up-market designer chairs and settees. A great place to chill out for a few days in beautiful surroundings with a superb restaurant. Go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Such a warm welcome was given on our arrival and this continued through our stay. Our room though not huge, was large enough and the bathroom had fantastic views over the back garden. Comfortable bed and perfectly cooked breakfast, included home made bread for the toast. We ate far to much!
Our only small grumble was the door banging outside our room rather loadly but it did get us up in plenty of time for the feast ahead.

Room Tip: A room away from a fire door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Newington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It goes to say that a hotel that has been around for 17 years and never felt the need to advertise must be doing something right ! Our stay was very relaxed and the staff were charming and extremely helpful The food is to be believed with a great wine cellar - Breakfast was delicious. This is a place of yesteryear charm. Go enjoy - we did

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Il start by saying this is a stunning listed building, its obviously very old and a lovely English structure. The door frames are small and inside are coats of arms - It feels like King Arther is about to appear from one of the rooms, go outside and start Jousting!

However sadly the ceiling was full of rats, big loud ones. No, it wasnt the people in the room above us creaking and scratching and running about - nor their dog - as there was no room above us...........we left before sleeping there with a full refund. The people are nice though and they acknowledged there was a problem, its obviously happened before and been dealt with as they looked most upset about it.... It may well have now been resolved...

I have added one photo to this review, taken of our room when we first got there. Spot the Orb!

Room Tip: I have still given good overall ratings as it is beautiful and the rats have been sorted, then it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castleman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleman

Address: Chettle DT11 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Chettle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chettle
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castleman Hotel Chettle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castleman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.