We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fernhill Hotel to your Saves list
Fernhill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fern Hill, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
devizes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A super hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Fernhill is an excellent hotel. This was our second stay here and we can't fault it. Our room was very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The food was great and the service friendly. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 and found it very relaxing with everything we needed. The beds are extremely com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    48
    10
    10
    1
See reviews for
36
99
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A lovely relaxing Christmas break, which was made all the better for me as a coeliac, by the high quality, gluten free menu choices - my husband, a non-coeliac, enjoyed too. From the moment we arrived to the day of our departure, the staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We even booked an extra night's stay! The quality of the food and varied menu would not be out of place served in a 4 Star hotel. We will be recommending this lovely, family run hotel to our friends and family and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A lovely relaxing pre Christmas break , friendly, welcoming hosts , helpful staff , clean and comfortable room . Delicious dinner served on both nights of our stay . Very enjoyable can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Booked for a quiet weekend getaway. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was very clean with superb views across the hills and hotel swimming pool. Fresh flowers, bowl of fresh fruit and a barrel of homemade biscuits which were topped up the following day - impressed with that . I found the bed in room 2 extremely comfortable and slept really well. We ate in the hotel for the 1st evening which was enjoyable. The 2nd evening we chose to eat in a local pub as we wanted more if a snack and experience a more local atmosphere . Visited the Lyme Regis with its quaint shops. Walked from Charmouth to West Bay and enjoyed the spa bath back in the hotel to relax our tired muscles. Highly recommend the Fernhill Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Comfortable rooms with plenty of tea and coffee and very nice complimentatry shower gel etc (so nice to get seperate conditioner!). All of the staff were very efficient and very welcoming. Room was spacious and lovely and clean. Bathroom could have been bigger but was adequate. Excellent restaurant with a good selection of local ingredients and equally comprehensive breakfast choice. Lovely walking close by and quaint Lyme Regis only 2 miles away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a pleasant night's stay at Fernhill - our spacious room (no 2) had 2 windows with views across fields to the sea, and even a loo with a view. The receptionist was smiling and friendly and we were given tea and delicious apple cake on arrival. The breakfast was well cooked with a good choice. We didn't have dinner at the hotel. A duvet under the sheet made the bed too soft, but to be fair we could have taken it off.

My only complaint is the price: by charging £170 for B&B, and offering spa treatments, Fernhill is competing in the premier league of country house hotels (the sort of places with gates and gravel drives) and on this standard it falls well short. The paintwork on some of the exteriors gives a poor initial impression, reception is tucked away down a corridor and some of the room furniture is scuffed and marked. I feel that the hotel should cut its prices and concentrate on repair and decoration rather than try to be something it isn't. At £100-£120 per night it would be a real gem.

Room Tip: Room 2 has dual aspect windows and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbrough, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday and rarely for us without kids. This hotel was perfect in every way! Loved the stylish decor throughout, obviously recently refurbished and the little touches - great attention to detail. Fresh flowers everywhere, complimentary Tea & yummy home made Cake (and even a gluten free alternative for my husband); home made cookies in our tea tray; lots of info and useful advice on what to do and see in the area.

Spotlessly clean with charming staff – every single member of staff had a smile and appeared to genuinely enjoy their work, which made a really happy relaxed atmosphere. It felt as though we were VIP’s the level of care and service we got (but really everyone was treated just as well!)

We ate at the Hotel both nights, because our first night’s food was so good and they cater really well for special diets (gluten free in our case) and there were so many dishes on the menu I wanted to try, we could have eaten there for a week quite happily! Breakfast was equally impressive with such a choice and excellent healthy options as well as the most generous Cooked breakfast I have seen. The emphasis was on local produce and their passion was obvious in the quality of the dishes.

If you like great food and great company in a lovely location you must stay here!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Hotel

Address: Fern Hill, Charmouth, Bridport DT66BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to relax and enjoy a warm welcome. Conveniently located between Charmouth and Lyme Regis with stunning views of rolling Dorset Countryside towards Golden Cap and the sea beyond. AA 3 star and GTBS Gold award for Green Tourism show Fernhill's commitment to providing outstanding service, with a local seasonal focus whilst minimising their impact on the environment.With 36 acres of woodland, ponds and meadows, a la Carte and Bar & Grill Dining, outdoor heated Pool (May-Oct), and Holistic Therapies there are many ways to relax at the Hotel. Within easy access to the wealth of attractions Devon, Dorset Somerset & Wiltshire have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fernhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.