We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mumsie's Holiday Treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bank House

The Bank House
The Street | Charmouth, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PU, England (Formerly The Old Bank Cafe)
+44 1297 561600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Charmouth
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Bank House is a family ran restaurant serving good traditional english food. New for 2013 we will be serving seafood and a selection of pasta dishes. Seafood will be on the special board as it will change daily.Please call to see whats on the that day.We are a licensed premises and are selling local ales from branscombe. Locally made award wining cider just 16 miles over the boarder in Somerset. We have a selection of lagers, and wines. We aim to make your visit to the cafe one to remember. From a good traditional English breakfast using award wining sausages , to a bowl of mussels cooked in white wine and cream. Not forgetting our homemade meringues filled with fresh cream and fresh fruit. You will always receive a warm welcome from the staff at the the old bank.
Charmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mumsie's Holiday Treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Whilst staying in Charmouth we ventured out for a dinner out. After looking on trip advisor we decided to try the Bank.
Initial impressions was a nice clean cosy restaurant with a friendly welcome.
As it was mum's treat, we decided on three courses! And was very pleased we did.
Starters were tasty and plentiful, mains cooked very well, tasty and plentiful. It was a struggle to opt for dessert but couldn't resist treacle tart and clotted cream, warm chocolate fudge cake and hot waffle with icecream. Yum!
All was finished with delicious coffees.
Very full and satisfied party and even mum was pleasantly surprised with the bill.
On the whole, very tasty and good value meal in pleasant atmosphere.
Thankyou :0)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quiet Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Dinner for two, out of season in a quiet restaurant. Nice
The pasta dishes are good and I loved the whitebait.
The staff and owner were all chatty and helpful.
A few more customers would have made the place look better...So if you are reading this, please go and dine there [take friends].
See you when we are next in Charmouth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair185, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for your review, the bank isn't so quiet now. We are very busy. Full most nights that we are open. But I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We called into "The Bank House" for lunch on Saturday afternoon, I had the Burger with cheese and bacon, which was really tasty, my wife had the Fish and Chips which she said was fantastic! The owners were very friendly and checked to see if everything was ok, we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair185, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I'm very happy you enjoyed your fish and chips. They are very popular at the bank house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Work lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a work lunch here today. Warm welcome. Service was good. All our dishes were presented well and tasted very nice. Thank you very much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair185, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for taking time to do a review for your work lunch. Glad you all had a good time at the bank hope see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Catered brilliantly for large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I went to The Bank House for the first time for a family meal with a large mixed group of adults & children. The table had been decorated by the staff and we were warmly welcomed on arrival. Our food had been pre-ordered and was quickly served. I had whitebait to start and salmon with new potatoes for main - all of which was delicious. There was a wide selection of food to choose from - adult & children and all the party enjoyed their choices. The staff were friendly & attentive, checking everything was okay and that we had everything we needed. Looking forward to going back & trying some of the other menu choices soon! Thank you for a great evening.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clair185, Owner at The Bank House, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It was a pleasure to be able to hold your surprise meal here at the bank. Glad you had a great time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank House also viewed

 

Been to The Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.